On Mon, 18 Feb 2008 08:53:06 -0800, kruser
> Is there any way to prevent deletions on one of the computers? I would like
> to use this software as more of a backup then to have access on multiple
> computers. It makes me really nervous to think that if something happened
> and files were deleted on a connected PC it would delete it on all PCs.
Give that computer an account/email address with the privileges of no more
than "Contributor" to that particular library. If a file is added locally
at that Contributor computer then the addition will be propagated to the
library and to all who share it. But if a file is deleted locally then
when FS next runs there will appear an on-screen warning that deletions are
not permitted and will not be propagated and that file will be replaced
from the library.
Note, the files in the library may become set by FS to write-protected on
the "Contributor" computer and that setting may hinder your use of them
there. Feel free to change the files' attributes to write-enabled as that
setting will not affect the inability to delete files from the library,
only the inability to make local deletions that will anyway be replaced.