Windows Vista Forums
Vista Forums Home Join Vista Forums Windows 7 Forum Vista Tutorials Tags
Welcome to Windows Vista Forums. Our forum is dedicated to helping you find solutions with any problems, errors or issues you are experiencing with Windows Vista. The Vista forum also covers news and updates and has an extensive Windows Vista tutorial section that covers a wide range of tips and tricks.

Go Back   Vista Forums > Windows Live > Live Mail

Vista - Live Mail highjacked?

Reply
 
Old 10-14-2008   #1 (permalink)
Fathom


 
 

Live Mail highjacked?

I have received several emails relating to messages I never sent.

From: postmaster@xxxxxx;
Subject: Delivery Status Notification (Failure)

This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.
Delivery to the following recipients failed.
creekfire@xxxxxx


Attached to these are the original email sent with content like:

Dear (creekfire@xxxxxx) !
Discount price store: #7202
http://je.solanguage.com?xyn
Lovers package at discount price!
® 2001-2008 Pfizer Inc. All rights reserved.


This is pissing me off. I work hard to keep a clean system and have been
using computers since the 70's. I have scanned my system with for virii and
malware and found nothing.

Any ideas what to check next?

My System SpecsSystem Spec
Old 10-14-2008   #2 (permalink)


 
 

Re: Live Mail highjacked?


"Fathom" <Fathom@xxxxxx> wrote in message
news:CF4CEB89-D582-4860-AF0A-65A43998A023@xxxxxx
Quote:

>I have received several emails relating to messages I never sent.
>
> From: postmaster@xxxxxx;
> Subject: Delivery Status Notification (Failure)
>
> This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.
> Delivery to the following recipients failed.
> creekfire@xxxxxx
>
>
> Attached to these are the original email sent with content like:
>
> Dear (creekfire@xxxxxx) !
> Discount price store: #7202
> http://je.solanguage.com?xyn
> Lovers package at discount price!
> ® 2001-2008 Pfizer Inc. All rights reserved.
>
>
> This is pissing me off. I work hard to keep a clean system and have been
> using computers since the 70's. I have scanned my system with for virii
> and
> malware and found nothing.
>
> Any ideas what to check next?
..
Spammers often use incorrect return addresses when sending spam. Some
spammer may have acquired or guessed your email address, and started
using it as the return address when sending spam. In this case, there is
likely to be nothing on your computer that can be fixed to prevent such
mail again.

However, you can read the headers of the message originally sent and find
out where to report the spammer to, and probably get it stopped at the
other end.

http://headertool.apelord.com/

http://www.geobytes.com/IpLocator.htm?GetLocation

http://www.whatsmyip.org/spam/

http://www.whatsmyip.org/whois/

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/s.../bb897435.aspx

Be careful about trying to report spam from unfamiliar providers
without doing a Google search for that email provider and making
sure they are an actual email provider and not a spammer that's
set up their own software to act as an email provider, though,
since such spammers often use the return addresses of any email
they are sent as addresses to send more spam to.


My System SpecsSystem Spec
Old 10-14-2008   #3 (permalink)
Gary VanderMolen


 
 

Re: Live Mail highjacked?

Deciphering spoofed headers correctly is not a trivial exercise.
Those who wish to complain to the admin of the sending
server should avail themselves of the free services of SpamCop.
(http://spamcop.net)

--
Gary VanderMolen, MS-MVP (Mail)


<robertmiles@xxxxxx> wrote in message news:OBmbLAhLJHA.1156@xxxxxx
Quote:

>
> "Fathom" <Fathom@xxxxxx> wrote in message news:CF4CEB89-D582-4860-AF0A-65A43998A023@xxxxxx
Quote:

>>I have received several emails relating to messages I never sent.
>>
>> From: postmaster@xxxxxx;
>> Subject: Delivery Status Notification (Failure)
>>
>> This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.
>> Delivery to the following recipients failed.
>> creekfire@xxxxxx
>>
>>
>> Attached to these are the original email sent with content like:
>>
>> Dear (creekfire@xxxxxx) !
>> Discount price store: #7202
>> http://je.solanguage.com?xyn
>> Lovers package at discount price!
>> ® 2001-2008 Pfizer Inc. All rights reserved.
>>
>>
>> This is pissing me off. I work hard to keep a clean system and have been
>> using computers since the 70's. I have scanned my system with for virii and
>> malware and found nothing.
>>
>> Any ideas what to check next?
> .
> Spammers often use incorrect return addresses when sending spam. Some
> spammer may have acquired or guessed your email address, and started
> using it as the return address when sending spam. In this case, there is
> likely to be nothing on your computer that can be fixed to prevent such
> mail again.
>
> However, you can read the headers of the message originally sent and find
> out where to report the spammer to, and probably get it stopped at the
> other end.
>
> http://headertool.apelord.com/
>
> http://www.geobytes.com/IpLocator.htm?GetLocation
>
> http://www.whatsmyip.org/spam/
>
> http://www.whatsmyip.org/whois/
>
> http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/s.../bb897435.aspx
>
> Be careful about trying to report spam from unfamiliar providers
> without doing a Google search for that email provider and making
> sure they are an actual email provider and not a spammer that's
> set up their own software to act as an email provider, though,
> since such spammers often use the return addresses of any email
> they are sent as addresses to send more spam to.
>
>

My System SpecsSystem Spec
Old 10-14-2008   #4 (permalink)
Fathom


 
 

Re: Live Mail highjacked?

Disturbing.

Thanks,
Scott


"robertmiles@xxxxxx" wrote:
Quote:

>
> "Fathom" <Fathom@xxxxxx> wrote in message
> news:CF4CEB89-D582-4860-AF0A-65A43998A023@xxxxxx
Quote:

> >I have received several emails relating to messages I never sent.
> >
> > From: postmaster@xxxxxx;
> > Subject: Delivery Status Notification (Failure)
> >
> > This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.
> > Delivery to the following recipients failed.
> > creekfire@xxxxxx
> >
> >
> > Attached to these are the original email sent with content like:
> >
> > Dear (creekfire@xxxxxx) !
> > Discount price store: #7202
> > http://je.solanguage.com?xyn
> > Lovers package at discount price!
> > ® 2001-2008 Pfizer Inc. All rights reserved.
> >
> >
> > This is pissing me off. I work hard to keep a clean system and have been
> > using computers since the 70's. I have scanned my system with for virii
> > and
> > malware and found nothing.
> >
> > Any ideas what to check next?
> ..
> Spammers often use incorrect return addresses when sending spam. Some
> spammer may have acquired or guessed your email address, and started
> using it as the return address when sending spam. In this case, there is
> likely to be nothing on your computer that can be fixed to prevent such
> mail again.
>
> However, you can read the headers of the message originally sent and find
> out where to report the spammer to, and probably get it stopped at the
> other end.
>
> http://headertool.apelord.com/
>
> http://www.geobytes.com/IpLocator.htm?GetLocation
>
> http://www.whatsmyip.org/spam/
>
> http://www.whatsmyip.org/whois/
>
> http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/s.../bb897435.aspx
>
> Be careful about trying to report spam from unfamiliar providers
> without doing a Google search for that email provider and making
> sure they are an actual email provider and not a spammer that's
> set up their own software to act as an email provider, though,
> since such spammers often use the return addresses of any email
> they are sent as addresses to send more spam to.
>
>
>
My System SpecsSystem Spec
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Forum
Outlook 2007, Office Live Mail and Windows Live Mail Live Mail
highjacked? Vista security
Live Messenger, Live Hotmail, and Windows Live Mail - Contacts Live Mail
Live Messenger, Live Hotmail, and Windows Live Mail - Contacts Live Messenger
Mail vs Live Mail vs Live Mail Desktop vs Outlook Express Vista mail


Vista Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized,
sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation.
"Windows Vista", the Start Orb, and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.
© Designer Media Ltd

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46