Hi Mike,
Won't stop a Messenger virus if they clicked and run the virus executable. They're usually
made from an existing one and are unique.
The utilities in question rely on blacklists and due to the uniqueness, are rarely detected
by any application I've seen. At least not for a few months.
--
Jonathan Kay
Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger
MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger
MessengerGeek Blog:
http://www.messengergeek.com
Messenger Resources:
http://messenger.jonathankay.com
(c) 2008 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation
--
"Mike_Aberdeen" <MikeAberdeen@xxxxxx> wrote in message
news:2D8B4AF6-7D20-4C68-9427-336CAD014D35@xxxxxx
> Thanks Johnathan, looks like it. Though I know that the contact concerned is
> firewalled, runs a virus checker (Avast), Windows Defender, and routinely
> checks his pc with a couple of other malware utilities.
>
> Mike.
>
>
> "Jonathan Kay [MVP]" wrote:
>
>> Greetings Mike,
>>
>> Sounds like someone with a Messenger virus on their PC sending it to you.
>>
>> --
>> Jonathan Kay
>> Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger
>> MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger
>> MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com
>> Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com
>> (c) 2008 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation
>> --
>>
>>
>> "Mike_Aberdeen" <Mike_Aberdeen@xxxxxx> wrote in message
>> news:EAC07131-B7FE-4210-BEAD-09B3C64CF625@xxxxxx
>> > After I sign in to WLM I get a message purporting to come from one of my
>> > contacts. All it says is "Contact Name says: http://www.cekilir.info/list". I
>> > have looked at the site www.cekilir.info & creates the impression that it is
>> > connected with MSN & will tell you who has blocked you on WLM if you input
>> > your account details. At the bottom of the page is a statement in small
>> > letters that the site is in no way connected with the Microsoft Corporation.
>> > Naturally I did not fill out my details.
>> > Has anyone else experience of this? Is it a hoax, as I suspect, or is it
>> > genuine? >>
>>