![]() |
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
| Welcome to Windows Vista Forums. Our forum is dedicated to helping you find solutions with any problems, errors or issues you are experiencing with Windows Vista. The Vista forum also covers news and updates and has an extensive Windows Vista tutorial section that covers a wide range of tips and tricks. |
| |||||||
![]() |
| |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| | Fishy email to download emoticons just wondering if the email sent from communications_msn_cs_dech@xxxxxx to download 30 emoticons for free (Message-Id: <20081003134813.5771.2892592-18142@xxxxxx> ) is authentic. It points to the following web page: http://www.livemessenger-emoticons.com/ looks fishy to me |
My System Specs![]() |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Vista Ultimate 64bit SP2/ | Re: Fishy email to download emoticons I wouldn't download it. |
My System Specs![]() |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| | Re: Fishy email to download emoticons Hi Edgar Thanks for checking. It is a legitimate website with no malware. And it does give you 30 free emoticons. Sameer Halai Windows Live Messenger Team Quote: > just wondering if the email sent from > communications_msn_cs_dech@xxxxxx to download 30 emoticons for > free (Message-Id: <20081003134813.5771.2892592-18142@xxxxxx> > ) is authentic. It points to the following web page: > http://www.livemessenger-emoticons.com/ > > looks fishy to me |
My System Specs![]() |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| | Re: Fishy email to download emoticons > just wondering if the email sent from Quote: > communications_msn_cs_dech@xxxxxx to download 30 emoticons for > free (Message-Id: <20081003134813.5771.2892592-18142@xxxxxx> > ) is authentic. It points to the following web page: > http://www.livemessenger-emoticons.com/ > > looks fishy to me > called "autosearch.exe"? ... way to weird. Also the site lacks *any* kind of info on who they are and so on. Right not to trust this, anybody can claim free emoticons and can put some links to Microsoft sites on their page. The site itself also is not connected to Microsoft in any way ... it's hosted by www.sil.at, it's in Austria. Menno |
My System Specs![]() |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| | Re: Fishy email to download emoticons Hi, It's legit. It doesn't look legit because it's not a Microsoft site per-say, it's contracted out by one of the Microsoft offices and some marketing company. If you look at that autosearch.exe file, you'll find it is digitally signed by Microsoft. -- Jonathan Kay Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com (c) 2008 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation -- "TheCroW" <news@xxxxxx> wrote in message news:b-mdnQ_KeM_TC3bVRVnyugA@xxxxxx Quote: Quote: >> just wondering if the email sent from >> communications_msn_cs_dech@xxxxxx to download 30 emoticons for >> free (Message-Id: <20081003134813.5771.2892592-18142@xxxxxx> >> ) is authentic. It points to the following web page: >> http://www.livemessenger-emoticons.com/ >> >> looks fishy to me >> > Think you are right ... it looks fishy. The download of the emoticons is > called "autosearch.exe"? ... way to weird. Also the site lacks *any* kind > of info on who they are and so on. Right not to trust this, anybody can > claim free emoticons and can put some links to Microsoft sites on their > page. > The site itself also is not connected to Microsoft in any way ... it's > hosted by www.sil.at, it's in Austria. > > Menno > > > |
My System Specs![]() |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| | Re: Fishy email to download emoticons And I have them downloaded and haven't had any problems at all. Why they don't have a US site is puzzling though. -- ©LarryEº "Jonathan Kay [MVP]" <msnewsreplies@xxxxxx> wrote in message news:emSS5bPKJHA.5336@xxxxxx Hi, It's legit. It doesn't look legit because it's not a Microsoft site per-say, it's contracted out by one of the Microsoft offices and some marketing company. If you look at that autosearch.exe file, you'll find it is digitally signed by Microsoft. -- Jonathan Kay Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com (c) 2008 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation -- "TheCroW" <news@xxxxxx> wrote in message news:b-mdnQ_KeM_TC3bVRVnyugA@xxxxxx Quote: Quote: >> just wondering if the email sent from >> communications_msn_cs_dech@xxxxxx to download 30 emoticons for >> free (Message-Id: <20081003134813.5771.2892592-18142@xxxxxx> >> ) is authentic. It points to the following web page: >> http://www.livemessenger-emoticons.com/ >> >> looks fishy to me >> > Think you are right ... it looks fishy. The download of the emoticons is > called "autosearch.exe"? ... way to weird. Also the site lacks *any* kind > of info on who they are and so on. Right not to trust this, anybody can > claim free emoticons and can put some links to Microsoft sites on their > page. > The site itself also is not connected to Microsoft in any way ... it's > hosted by www.sil.at, it's in Austria. > > Menno > > > |
My System Specs![]() |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| | Re: Fishy email to download emoticons Ok ... actually it's not about looking legit ... it's about looking like ... well, nothing at all ... no explanation on who they are or whatever ... I believe you that's its okay but for me I wouldn't download something from a site that looks and acts like that in a lifetime ... Menno Quote: > Hi, > > It's legit. It doesn't look legit because it's not a Microsoft site > per-say, it's contracted out by one of the Microsoft offices and some > marketing company. > > If you look at that autosearch.exe file, you'll find it is digitally > signed by Microsoft. > > -- > Jonathan Kay > Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger > MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger > MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com > Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com > (c) 2008 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature > or citation > -- > > > "TheCroW" <news@xxxxxx> wrote in message > news:b-mdnQ_KeM_TC3bVRVnyugA@xxxxxx Quote: Quote: >>> just wondering if the email sent from >>> communications_msn_cs_dech@xxxxxx to download 30 emoticons >>> for >>> free (Message-Id: <20081003134813.5771.2892592-18142@xxxxxx> >>> ) is authentic. It points to the following web page: >>> http://www.livemessenger-emoticons.com/ >>> >>> looks fishy to me >>> >> Think you are right ... it looks fishy. The download of the emoticons is >> called "autosearch.exe"? ... way to weird. Also the site lacks *any* >> kind >> of info on who they are and so on. Right not to trust this, anybody can >> claim free emoticons and can put some links to Microsoft sites on their >> page. >> The site itself also is not connected to Microsoft in any way ... it's >> hosted by www.sil.at, it's in Austria. >> >> Menno >> >> >> |
My System Specs![]() |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| | Re: Fishy email to download emoticons Hi, I admit the last time one of them even barely struck my interest, I just installed it in a VM and copied them over ![]() -- Jonathan Kay Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com (c) 2008 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation -- "TheCroW" <news@xxxxxx> wrote in message news:G6SdnU0dX84hR3HVnZ2dnUVZ8hmdnZ2d@xxxxxx Quote: > Ok ... actually it's not about looking legit ... it's about looking like ... well, nothing > at all ... no explanation on who they are or whatever ... I believe you that's its okay but > for me I wouldn't download something from a site that looks and acts like that in a > lifetime ... > > Menno > Quote: >> Hi, >> >> It's legit. It doesn't look legit because it's not a Microsoft site per-say, it's >> contracted out by one of the Microsoft offices and some marketing company. >> >> If you look at that autosearch.exe file, you'll find it is digitally signed by Microsoft. >> >> -- >> Jonathan Kay >> Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger >> MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger >> MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com >> Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com >> (c) 2008 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation >> -- >> >> >> "TheCroW" <news@xxxxxx> wrote in message >> news:b-mdnQ_KeM_TC3bVRVnyugA@xxxxxx Quote: >>>> just wondering if the email sent from >>>> communications_msn_cs_dech@xxxxxx to download 30 emoticons for >>>> free (Message-Id: <20081003134813.5771.2892592-18142@xxxxxx> >>>> ) is authentic. It points to the following web page: >>>> http://www.livemessenger-emoticons.com/ >>>> >>>> looks fishy to me >>>> >>> >>> Think you are right ... it looks fishy. The download of the emoticons is >>> called "autosearch.exe"? ... way to weird. Also the site lacks *any* kind >>> of info on who they are and so on. Right not to trust this, anybody can >>> claim free emoticons and can put some links to Microsoft sites on their >>> page. >>> The site itself also is not connected to Microsoft in any way ... it's >>> hosted by www.sil.at, it's in Austria. >>> >>> Menno >>> >>> >>> > |
My System Specs![]() |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Forum | |||
| Facebook hack service smells fishy. | Security News | |||
| Custom emoticons showing in Groups although disabled custom emoticons | Live Messenger | |||
| KB940510 sounds fishy to me.. | Vista General | |||
| RE: Email Download | Live Mail | |||
| Vista, Otlook 2007 and Windows email. Cant download email when wir | Vista networking & sharing | |||