![]() |
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
| Welcome to Windows Vista Forums. Our forum is dedicated to helping you find solutions with any problems, errors or issues you are experiencing with Windows Vista. The Vista forum also covers news and updates and has an extensive Windows Vista tutorial section that covers a wide range of tips and tricks. |
| | |||||||
| |
| 05-26-2009 | #1 (permalink) |
| | Frustrations (Part 1 of many) I just received a message from an offline colleague that reads: You have received (1) new email from haris_sheikh. http://www.hotmail-live-inbox.com/?user=haris_sheikh The URL takes me to a webpage that makes no mention of any messages, let alone one from Haris Sheikh. Why might this be? Frustrating! It is followed by a System Notice: Your Live Account is about to get expired. For further details please visit, http://www.hotmail-live-inbox.com/ The URL takes me to a webpage that makes no mention of anything about expiry, let alone what to do about it. Why might this be? Frustrating!! A third message tells me that I have now received two private emails, There is a URL. I'll leave the rest to you're imagination, but you don't have to be very imaginative. Very Frustrating!!! Incidentally, if you want to contact me via my Live Account, then be quick, as it will soon be expired and there doesn't seem to be much I can do about that. -- Steve Swift http://www.swiftys.org.uk/swifty.html http://www.ringers.org.uk |
| My System Specs |
| 05-26-2009 | #2 (permalink) |
| | Re: Frustrations (Part 1 of many) >I just received a message from an offline colleague that reads: Quote: > > You have received (1) new email from haris_sheikh. > http://www.hotmail-live-inbox.com/?user=haris_sheikh > > The URL takes me to a webpage that makes no mention of any messages, let > alone one from Haris Sheikh. Why might this be? Frustrating! > > It is followed by a System Notice: > > Your Live Account is about to get expired. For further details please > visit, > http://www.hotmail-live-inbox.com/ > > The URL takes me to a webpage that makes no mention of anything about > expiry, let alone what to do about it. Why might this be? Frustrating!! > > A third message tells me that I have now received two private emails, > There is a URL. I'll leave the rest to you're imagination, but you don't > have to be very imaginative. Very Frustrating!!! > > Incidentally, if you want to contact me via my Live Account, then be > quick, as it will soon be expired and there doesn't seem to be much I can > do about that. > > -- > Steve Swift scam to get/steal your name and password. It's hostted by Proxad.net. If you have used it in there, then I would log into the normal Hotmail or Live site and change your password, http://www.hotmail.com Oh, the message that your account will expire is fake too ofcourse ... that is used to lure you to that site. Menno |
| My System Specs |
| 05-26-2009 | #3 (permalink) |
| | Re: Frustrations (Part 1 of many) TheCroW wrote: Quote: > The URL you mention has absolutly nothing to do with Hotmail ... it's just a > scam to get/steal your name and password. It's hostted by Proxad.net. If you > have used it in there, then I would log into the normal Hotmail or Live site > and change your password, http://www.hotmail.com > > Oh, the message that your account will expire is fake too ofcourse ... that > is used to lure you to that site. changed my password before, I cannot find how to do it at http://www.hotmail.com while I'm as stressed as I am. I may just decide to abandon that ID. -- Steve Swift http://www.swiftys.org.uk/swifty.html http://www.ringers.org.uk |
| My System Specs |
| 05-26-2009 | #4 (permalink) |
| | Re: Frustrations (Part 1 of many) Hi Steve, https://account.live.com/ChangePassword.aspx will take you right there. Also, you may want to see http://messengergeek.spaces.live.com...DA1!2285.entry (my blog) as it goes over how to validate that you're at a real Live ID site. -- Jonathan Kay Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com (c) 2009 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation -- "Swifty" <Steve.J.Swift@xxxxxx> wrote in message news:uRljhBi3JHA.1512@xxxxxx Quote: > TheCroW wrote: Quote: >> The URL you mention has absolutly nothing to do with Hotmail ... it's just a scam to >> get/steal your name and password. It's hostted by Proxad.net. If you have used it in >> there, then I would log into the normal Hotmail or Live site and change your password, >> http://www.hotmail.com >> >> Oh, the message that your account will expire is fake too ofcourse ... that is used to >> lure you to that site. > Oh well, it's going to be one of those sorts of days. Never having changed my password > before, I cannot find how to do it at http://www.hotmail.com while I'm as stressed as I am. > I may just decide to abandon that ID. > > -- > Steve Swift > http://www.swiftys.org.uk/swifty.html > http://www.ringers.org.uk |
| My System Specs |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
| Similar topics to: Frustrations (Part 1 of many) | ||||
| Thread | Forum | |||
| Vista printing frustrations | Vista print fax & scan | |||
| Even less hair after 2 days of WLM frustrations. | Live Mail | |||
| The Frustrations of Networks | Vista networking & sharing | |||
| rss gadget frustrations | Vista General | |||
| rss gadget frustrations | Vista General | |||