Windows Vista Forums
Vista Forums Home Join Vista Forums Windows 7 Forum Vista Tutorials Tags
Welcome to Windows Vista Forums. Our forum is dedicated to helping you find solutions with any problems, errors or issues you are experiencing with Windows Vista. The Vista forum also covers news and updates and has an extensive Windows Vista tutorial section that covers a wide range of tips and tricks.

Go Back   Vista Forums > Windows Live > Live Messenger

Vista - MSN Status application

Reply
 
Old 09-12-2009   #1 (permalink)
Rage Skywolfe


 
 

MSN Status application

I have gotten this e mail from three of my contacts and I am curious as to
where it is comming from.

Greetings!
lists their address here invited you to check who has deleted or blocked
you from their contact list on MSN Messenger.

It's Easy, Secure and Free!

Try it Now, Click Here

Thanks
Status Checker Team.


______
This mail is sent by their address here using MSN status checker Application.
This is NOT Spam.

there doesn't seem to be any links on it on google that actualy identify it
but the link when you hover over it is i-saw-you-blocked.com has anyone else
seen this?


--
Four Generations Of Trust And Betrayal...One Legacy

Skywolfe

My System SpecsSystem Spec
Old 09-13-2009   #2 (permalink)
Jonathan Kay [MVP]


 
 

Re: MSN Status application

Hi Skywolfe,

Just yet another phishing scam. They just send e-mails out now.

Your contacts need to get their passwords changed ASAP (and optionally, a knock over the
head).

--
Jonathan Kay
Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger
MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger
MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com
Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com
(c) 2009 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation
--


"Rage Skywolfe" <RageSkywolfe@newsgroup> wrote in message
news:0272E030-2B95-4A34-9443-6BBBE76E6A75@newsgroup
Quote:

> I have gotten this e mail from three of my contacts and I am curious as to
> where it is comming from.
>
> Greetings!
> lists their address here invited you to check who has deleted or blocked
> you from their contact list on MSN Messenger.
>
> It's Easy, Secure and Free!
>
> Try it Now, Click Here
>
> Thanks
> Status Checker Team.
>
>
> ______
> This mail is sent by their address here using MSN status checker Application.
> This is NOT Spam.
>
> there doesn't seem to be any links on it on google that actualy identify it
> but the link when you hover over it is i-saw-you-blocked.com has anyone else
> seen this?
>
>
> --
> Four Generations Of Trust And Betrayal...One Legacy
>
> Skywolfe

My System SpecsSystem Spec
Old 09-13-2009   #3 (permalink)


Vista Home Premium x32
 
 

Re: MSN Status application

Looks like spam to me. Heck, not even in proper english really.

Ignore it, block it, do whatever. It could be chain-mail, it could be simple spam. Either way it's of no use to you.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
Old 09-13-2009   #4 (permalink)
Rage Skywolfe


 
 

Re: MSN Status application

lol sometimes I wish I could do that and that is what I thought it was.
--
Four Generations Of Trust And Betrayal...One Legacy

Skywolfe


"Jonathan Kay [MVP]" wrote:
Quote:

> Hi Skywolfe,
>
> Just yet another phishing scam. They just send e-mails out now.
>
> Your contacts need to get their passwords changed ASAP (and optionally, a knock over the
> head).
>
> --
> Jonathan Kay
> Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger
> MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger
> MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com
> Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com
> (c) 2009 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation
> --
>
>
> "Rage Skywolfe" <RageSkywolfe@newsgroup> wrote in message
> news:0272E030-2B95-4A34-9443-6BBBE76E6A75@newsgroup
Quote:

> > I have gotten this e mail from three of my contacts and I am curious as to
> > where it is comming from.
> >
> > Greetings!
> > lists their address here invited you to check who has deleted or blocked
> > you from their contact list on MSN Messenger.
> >
> > It's Easy, Secure and Free!
> >
> > Try it Now, Click Here
> >
> > Thanks
> > Status Checker Team.
> >
> >
> > ______
> > This mail is sent by their address here using MSN status checker Application.
> > This is NOT Spam.
> >
> > there doesn't seem to be any links on it on google that actualy identify it
> > but the link when you hover over it is i-saw-you-blocked.com has anyone else
> > seen this?
> >
> >
> > --
> > Four Generations Of Trust And Betrayal...One Legacy
> >
> > Skywolfe
>
>
>
My System SpecsSystem Spec
Old 09-14-2009   #5 (permalink)
Jonathan Kay [MVP]


 
 

Re: MSN Status application

Hi,

No you should not ignore it. You need to tell your contacts that they've given out their
username and password out and that they need to change it immediately.

And that goes for anywhere else they use the same e-mail address and password (Facebook,
etc.).

--
Jonathan Kay
Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger
MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger
MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com
Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com
(c) 2009 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation
--


"lorx" <guest@newsgroup-email.com> wrote in message
news:8b272baf4ceece0de4e47d9f1c803a44@newsgroup-gateway.com...
Quote:

>
> Looks like spam to me. Heck, not even in proper english really.
>
> Ignore it, block it, do whatever. It could be chain-mail, it could be
> simple spam. Either way it's of no use to you.
>
>
> --
> lorx

My System SpecsSystem Spec
Old 09-23-2009   #6 (permalink)
Lupetta


 
 

RE: MSN Status application



"Rage Skywolfe" wrote:
Quote:

> I have gotten this e mail from three of my contacts and I am curious as to
> where it is comming from.
>
> Greetings!
> lists their address here invited you to check who has deleted or blocked
> you from their contact list on MSN Messenger.
>
> It's Easy, Secure and Free!
>
> Try it Now, Click Here
>
> Thanks
> Status Checker Team.
>
>
> ______
> This mail is sent by their address here using MSN status checker Application.
> This is NOT Spam.
>
> there doesn't seem to be any links on it on google that actualy identify it
> but the link when you hover over it is i-saw-you-blocked.com has anyone else
> seen this?
>
>
> --
> Four Generations Of Trust And Betrayal...One Legacy
>
> Skywolfe
My System SpecsSystem Spec
Old 09-23-2009   #7 (permalink)
Lupetta


 
 

RE: MSN Status application

Apparently, it's junk. I received it today and there is no viable link to
connect to. Some kind of SPAM or cyber trash.

"Rage Skywolfe" wrote:
Quote:

> I have gotten this e mail from three of my contacts and I am curious as to
> where it is comming from.
>
> Greetings!
> lists their address here invited you to check who has deleted or blocked
> you from their contact list on MSN Messenger.
>
> It's Easy, Secure and Free!
>
> Try it Now, Click Here
>
> Thanks
> Status Checker Team.
>
>
> ______
> This mail is sent by their address here using MSN status checker Application.
> This is NOT Spam.
>
> there doesn't seem to be any links on it on google that actualy identify it
> but the link when you hover over it is i-saw-you-blocked.com has anyone else
> seen this?
>
>
> --
> Four Generations Of Trust And Betrayal...One Legacy
>
> Skywolfe
My System SpecsSystem Spec
Old 1 Week Ago   #8 (permalink)


vista home premium 32bit
 
 

Re: MSN Status application

someone alwys know when my status on windows live messenger is set to appear offline. I wanna ask how can i know if his status is set to appear offline. I count on ur help. thank u
My System SpecsSystem Spec
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Forum
Send to function wont open WinMail and attach pdf from adobe application. I know this can be accomplished by right clicking on the pdf file but I need the application to do the task. Any suggestions? Vista mail
Vista Backup Status and Configuration application Vista General
appdata-local-Application Data-Application Data-Application Data infinitum ad nauseum. WHY Vista General
Application Error - CD MFC Application has stopped working Vista General


Vista Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized,
sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation.
"Windows Vista", the Start Orb, and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.
© Designer Media Ltd

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46