All our user's 'MyDocs' folders point to our file server (Windows 2003,
SP2) which is seen as a mapped 'U:' drive. We only use Offline files for
our laptop users as it enables them to work on files away from the office
and synch them back when they return. I simply enable offline files, then
choose 'Make available offline' under their MyDocs folder & Synchronize. It
Each user also has a folder called 'PST' set up on their 'C:' drive which
holds their PST file, we use Microsoft's free Oultook backup util to do a
daily backup to the U: drive. Note we don't back the PST file to the Users
MyDocs folder; the file is backed up to a completely different location on
the U: drive.
What we are seeing with users who synchronize (and no others) is that PST
files are appearing in the backup location with v1, v2, etc appended to
their filename; for example:
JoeBloggsBackup (joebloggs v1).pst
JoeBloggsBackup (joebloggs v3).pst
I can see that because the file has changed on the laptop & on the server
(maybe something to do with our daily tape backup during the night) it is
keeping both old & new versions of the files, probably at the users request
when synchronization occurs at logon.
The annoyance I have is that I haven't explicitly set the PST file or it's
parent PST folder to work offline and / or synchronise & I can't see how to
exclude it from the synchronisation process, it's doubly annoying as we
have to manually clear these extra files down on a regular basis to reclaim
precious disk space. If anyone can help I would be very grateful.