Windows Vista Forums

Folder Preview Picture Change

  1. #1
    <!-- google_ad_section_start -->Folder Preview Picture Change<!-- google_ad_section_end -->

    Folder Preview Picture Change
    How to Change a Folder Preview Picture in Vista and Windows 7
    Published by Brink is offline
    28 Aug 2007
    Folder Preview Picture Change

    How to Change a Folder Preview Picture in Vista and Windows 7


    information   Information
    By default a folder in Vista and Windows 7 will show a thumbnail preview picture of the folder contents in the folder icon. This will allow you to change that thumbnail preview picture in the folder icon to any image you would like instead.
    warning   Warning

    • This will not work with a folder in a external device like a USB key or DVD. External devices do not retain their Windows Explorer folder view settings in Vista.
    • This will not work on folder shortcuts, only on the main folder itself.

    EXAMPLE: Before and After Preview Picture Change
    Name:  Folder_Picture_Before.jpg
Views: 35489
Size:  3.6 KBName:  Before2.jpg
Views: 31809
Size:  3.2 KBName:  Folder_Picture_After.jpg
Views: 35604
Size:  3.5 KB


    Here's How:
    1. Right click on the folder and click on Properties.

    2. Click the Customize tab. (See screenshot below step 4)

    3. To Customize the Folder Preview Picture
    A) Click the Choose File button. (See screenshot below step 4)
    WARNING: Only check the Also apply this template to all subfolders box if you want this preview picture for all of the subfolders in this folder to. You can change them individually instead if you wanted to or not at all.

    B) Go to step 5.
    4. To Restore the Default Folder Preview Picture
    A) Click the Restore Default button. (See screenshot below)
    Folder Preview Picture Change-picture_properties.jpg
    B) Go to step 7.
    5. Navigate to the location of the image you want to use. (See screenshot below)

    6. Select the image and click on Open.
    Folder Preview Picture Change-picture_browse.jpg
    7. Click on OK to apply. (See screenshot below step 4)
    NOTE: You may need to press F5 to refresh the window to see the new preview picture you selected.

    8. If for some reason the selected preview picture will not show on the folder, then try this:
    A) Do step 2 and 3 in this link: How to Hide or Show Hidden Files and Folders in Vista

    B) Open the folder you want to change the preview picture for.

    C) Right click on the faded (means it is a hidden file) Desktop.ini file (if you have one) and click on Delete.
    NOTE: The Desktop.ini file will be automatically be regenerated the next time you make a change to the folder.

    D) Clear the thumbnail cache.

    E) Rebuild the icon cache.

    F) Now try the above steps again.
    That's it,
    Shawn


    Published by


    Brink's Avatar
    Administrator

    Join Date: Apr 2007
    Location: Texas, USA
    Posts: 31,296
    Array

    Tutorial Tools


    Applies to

    All Vista Versions
    64 Bit & 32 Bit


  2.   


  3. #1



    Newbie
    Join Date : Oct 2007
    Posts : 8
    Vista home premium
    Local Time: 04:43 AM

    Re: Folder Preview Picture Change

    Hi there:

    I have a strange situation in this regard, I assigned a few pictures to some directories exactly the way you mentioned here, it worked fine but one of these pictures has been attached to my "Program Files" directory too!!!!!! It happened all by itself and since there's no customize option about "Program Files" directory, I can't change or remove this picture from folder preview of my "Program Files"!!!

    Any suggestions?
    thanks alot.

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  4.   


  5. #2
    Brink's Avatar

    Administrator


    Join Date : Apr 2007
    Texas, USA
    Posts : 31,296
    64-bit Windows 8.1 Enterprise (RTM)
    Local Time: 08:13 PM
    usa us oklahoma

      Thread Starter

    Re: Folder Preview Picture Change

    Hi Borna mir,

    Go back to the one that you changed with this picture and change it back to the default (Restore Default) picture. It should restore the Program Files folder with it like it did before.

    Curious, which folder did you change that changed the Program Files folder to?

    Shawn

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  6. #3
    Dr.Zaius's Avatar

    Newbie
    Join Date : Oct 2007
    Posts : 4
    Vista
    Local Time: 08:13 PM


     

    Re: Folder Preview Picture Change

    My issue seems simpler but probably more intractable: sometimes it works and sometimes it does not. Initially I thought it depended on whether or not there were subfolders, but that ain't it.

    Refreshing, rebooting, or simply waiting doesn't help either. I'm talking about just regular old folders with nothing but JPEGs in them but some (if not most) leopards absolutely refuse to change their spots!

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  7. #4
    Brink's Avatar

    Administrator


    Join Date : Apr 2007
    Texas, USA
    Posts : 31,296
    64-bit Windows 8.1 Enterprise (RTM)
    Local Time: 08:13 PM
    usa us oklahoma

      Thread Starter

    Re: Folder Preview Picture Change

    Hi Dr. Zaius,

    Welcome to the forum.

    Vista can be picky when it comes to what it will allow to be changed or remembered. Try resetting the folder view settings to see if that will help. Look at method two in this tutorial for how.

    How to Reset Windows Explorer Folder View Settings to Make Vista Remember

    Shawn

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  8. #5



    Newbie
    Join Date : Oct 2007
    Posts : 8
    Vista home premium
    Local Time: 04:43 AM


     

    Re: Folder Preview Picture Change

    Dear Shawn:

    It was an ordinary folder including some pictures that I had customized!! I had similar problem with another folders too!! so finally I decided to forget customizing folders and reset everything to its default condition. using your method on "How to Reset Windows Explorer Folder View Settings to Make Vista Remember" solved the problem with "Program Files" too.

    Thanks a lot, Borna

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  9. #6
    Brink's Avatar

    Administrator


    Join Date : Apr 2007
    Texas, USA
    Posts : 31,296
    64-bit Windows 8.1 Enterprise (RTM)
    Local Time: 08:13 PM
    usa us oklahoma

      Thread Starter

    Re: Folder Preview Picture Change

    Borna,

    I am glad to hear that it solved your problem for you. Could you tell me the full path or location of that ordinary folder? I would like to run some tests by placing a folder in the same location to see if I can come with a way to prevent the problem you had when customizing.

    Thank you for the feedback,
    Shawn

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  10. #7
    Dr.Zaius's Avatar

    Newbie
    Join Date : Oct 2007
    Posts : 4
    Vista
    Local Time: 08:13 PM


     

    Re: Folder Preview Picture Change

    The method did not work for changing the preview image, but it definitely seemed to make folder settings more stable in general. Many thanks for that!

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  11. #8
    Brink's Avatar

    Administrator


    Join Date : Apr 2007
    Texas, USA
    Posts : 31,296
    64-bit Windows 8.1 Enterprise (RTM)
    Local Time: 08:13 PM
    usa us oklahoma

      Thread Starter

    Re: Folder Preview Picture Change

    Dr. Zalius,

    Glad to hear that it helped for your folder settings. Where are the folders located for the ones you want to change the preview picture? I have noticed that some system file folders will not change at all.

    Shawn

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  12. #9
    Dr.Zaius's Avatar

    Newbie
    Join Date : Oct 2007
    Posts : 4
    Vista
    Local Time: 08:13 PM


     

    Re: Folder Preview Picture Change

    Mainly just subfolders of JPEGs in "C:\Users\DrZ\Pictures." I have found a work-around that's not really a solution but does the trick consistently on my machine at least.

    I chose a single pic for the preview thumbnail, then copied and pasted it into the folder making sure it was the only image on that level.

    I hoped that would set the preview permanently so the out-of-place copy could be deleted, but it wants to revert back unless you leave it. Not ideal, but easy as falling off a log!

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Folder Preview Picture Change
Similar Threads
Tutorial Category
Picture icons don't show preview of picture Vista music pictures video
How to change folder icon that can preview images in the folder? Vista General
picture preview Vista General
Change Picture folder read only attribute Vista General
Change Picture Folder Problem Vista file management