"rq" <qurandc@xxxxxx> wrote in message
> Thanks for the info, but just to make sure I understand, If a file is
> saved during a backup and then later taken off the computer and then an
> "update" of the back up is made, the system will go into that data base
> and delete any files that have been deleted since the last backup.
No. Think of it this way: a collection of bottles on your mantle represents
your files on your computer. You take a picture of them. That picture is
your backup file. Then you decide to throw away a few bottles from the
mantle. If you could "restore" the bottles on the mantle with the backup
picture then all the original bottles would be back.
The backup utilities will not delete files from the backup file archive that
have been deleted from your computer - that would defeat the purpose of
But the better applications will allow you to selectively restore individual
files rather than the entire "photograph" - if that helps.