• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Annoying startup error: delete WPDNSE folder help! RC1

P

pwrwin

#1
Hi. For the past two days whenever I start up my computer I receive a popup
window:
[
This folder is shared with other people. If you delete this folder, it will
no longer be shared.
Folder: C:\Users\****\AppData\Local\Temp\WPDNSE
Share Name: C:\Users\****\AppData\Local\Temp\WPDNSE
]
Then it tells me to continue or to cancel. Nothing seems to happen if I
choose either one, only that WPDNSE gets deleted - just to return again when
I reboot (or log off - log in). For some reason, this only seems to happen on
my administrator account - my regular user account does not receive this
message. I had no installed any new hardware or software, so I'm really
confused here. I installed CCleaner to try and see if cleaning out my
system/registry could get rid of the message, but it didn't.

Any help?

Windows Vista RC1 Build 5600
 

My Computer

M

M. Murcek

#2
A quick Google shows nobody is quite sure what it is, but it is being
discussed in English, French, Russian and Japanese. Anytime a folder gets
erased, but returns on reboot, it means that somwhere a hidden copy probably
exists and it's being restored on a directive from a registry entry or other
spyware like entry point. Apparently none of the major spyware sites have
anything on it yet, so it could be something else. It could be someone's
content protection scheme (remember the Sony debacle last fall?) Sorry all
I can offer is maybe...could be...etc. but that's all there is out there
right now. If you want to know how the pros find this stuff, go look up
Mark Russinovich's blog entries on the Sony Rootkit -

http://www.sysinternals.com/blog/2005/10/sony-rootkits-and-digital-rights.html


"pwrwin" <pwrwin@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:ECCA422C-3FF9-484F-93D5-845C9570A66F@microsoft.com...
> Hi. For the past two days whenever I start up my computer I receive a
> popup
> window:
> [
> This folder is shared with other people. If you delete this folder, it
> will
> no longer be shared.
> Folder: C:\Users\****\AppData\Local\Temp\WPDNSE
> Share Name: C:\Users\****\AppData\Local\Temp\WPDNSE
> ]
> Then it tells me to continue or to cancel. Nothing seems to happen if I
> choose either one, only that WPDNSE gets deleted - just to return again
> when
> I reboot (or log off - log in). For some reason, this only seems to happen
> on
> my administrator account - my regular user account does not receive this
> message. I had no installed any new hardware or software, so I'm really
> confused here. I installed CCleaner to try and see if cleaning out my
> system/registry could get rid of the message, but it didn't.
>
> Any help?
>
> Windows Vista RC1 Build 5600
 

My Computer

J

Jane C

#3
It only seemed to happen in RC1 x86, not in RC1 x64. It doesn't happen in
later builds. ;)

"pwrwin" <pwrwin@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:ECCA422C-3FF9-484F-93D5-845C9570A66F@microsoft.com...
> Hi. For the past two days whenever I start up my computer I receive a
> popup
> window:
> [
> This folder is shared with other people. If you delete this folder, it
> will
> no longer be shared.
> Folder: C:\Users\****\AppData\Local\Temp\WPDNSE
> Share Name: C:\Users\****\AppData\Local\Temp\WPDNSE
> ]
> Then it tells me to continue or to cancel. Nothing seems to happen if I
> choose either one, only that WPDNSE gets deleted - just to return again
> when
> I reboot (or log off - log in). For some reason, this only seems to happen
> on
> my administrator account - my regular user account does not receive this
> message. I had no installed any new hardware or software, so I'm really
> confused here. I installed CCleaner to try and see if cleaning out my
> system/registry could get rid of the message, but it didn't.
>
> Any help?
>
> Windows Vista RC1 Build 5600
 

My Computer