No bug that is, Jared. That behavior is by design. Under the new UAC
security scheme the user, by default, only has permissions to create and
place files within their own user profile (environment). You can later move
them to the root, but it is not recommended.
As to the other issue, you may want to check for an updated display driver,
though I tend to think we will see a number of display issues for a time.