• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Deleting does not send items to Recycle Bin

K

KerriH

#1
I have Windows Vista. Whenever I delete something, whether by just selecting
it and pressing the delete key, selecting it and right-clicking and selecting
Delete, or by dragging an item to the Recycle Bin, it asks me if I want to
permanently delete the item. I usually say no because I don't want to. I want
it to go to the Recycle Bin. But there are no options to send it there. I
created a couple test files so that I could see what happens if I say Yes,
and sure enough they do not go to the Recycle Bin, they are permanently
deleted.

I DO NOT have the setting to delete without sending something to the Recycle
Bin checked. I have made sure of this numerous times.

Anyone else experience this?
 

My Computer

F

Fallstar

#2
"KerriH" wrote:

> I DO NOT have the setting to delete without sending something to the Recycle
> Bin checked. I have made sure of this numerous times.
Is this setting found in the Recycle Bin Properties? If it's not,
right-click the recycle bin and select Properties, then make sure "Do not
move files to the Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately when deleted." is not
selected...and also (above that) check the maximum size (MB) of the bin. Hope
that helps...
 

My Computer

R

Rick Rogers

#3
Hi,

Try first enabling that option on the Recycle Bin, then reboot and disable
it.

--
Best of Luck,

Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
Windows help - www.rickrogers.org
My thoughts http://rick-mvp.blogspot.com

"KerriH" <KerriH@xxxxxx> wrote in message
news:52E80958-D288-46AA-911D-E921FE310E61@xxxxxx

>I have Windows Vista. Whenever I delete something, whether by just
>selecting
> it and pressing the delete key, selecting it and right-clicking and
> selecting
> Delete, or by dragging an item to the Recycle Bin, it asks me if I want to
> permanently delete the item. I usually say no because I don't want to. I
> want
> it to go to the Recycle Bin. But there are no options to send it there. I
> created a couple test files so that I could see what happens if I say Yes,
> and sure enough they do not go to the Recycle Bin, they are permanently
> deleted.
>
> I DO NOT have the setting to delete without sending something to the
> Recycle
> Bin checked. I have made sure of this numerous times.
>
> Anyone else experience this?
 

My Computer

F

flipper

#4
i read the two replies you got below..... but have a question;
why are you so paranoid about the file(s) merely sitting in r/bin? if you are worried about
deleting something that you are not quite sure of 'yet', why not just make a folder on your d/top
and call it 'ready for delete'. ? then you can deal with them a week later or whenever you are
finally comfy blowin' them away. (you do know that the files will still remain on your hdd, dont
you? personally, i have a tendency to be bluddy sure when i delete something, and when i do,
i dont use windows r/bin, i use a 'shredder program' cos i know i want the files more than
removed/deleted etc)
 

My Computer

K

KerriH

#5
Rick,

Thanks so much for your reply! This worked perfectly!

Kerri

"Rick Rogers" wrote:

> Hi,
>
> Try first enabling that option on the Recycle Bin, then reboot and disable
> it.
>
> --
> Best of Luck,
>
> Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
> http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
> Windows help - www.rickrogers.org
> My thoughts http://rick-mvp.blogspot.com
>
> "KerriH" <KerriH@xxxxxx> wrote in message
> news:52E80958-D288-46AA-911D-E921FE310E61@xxxxxx

> >I have Windows Vista. Whenever I delete something, whether by just
> >selecting
> > it and pressing the delete key, selecting it and right-clicking and
> > selecting
> > Delete, or by dragging an item to the Recycle Bin, it asks me if I want to
> > permanently delete the item. I usually say no because I don't want to. I
> > want
> > it to go to the Recycle Bin. But there are no options to send it there. I
> > created a couple test files so that I could see what happens if I say Yes,
> > and sure enough they do not go to the Recycle Bin, they are permanently
> > deleted.
> >
> > I DO NOT have the setting to delete without sending something to the
> > Recycle
> > Bin checked. I have made sure of this numerous times.
> >
> > Anyone else experience this?
>
>
 

My Computer

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 0)