• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Firewall

L

Lorrilo

#1
I installed PC cillin in October and upgraded to Trend Micro Internet
security yesterday; since then I have nothing but problems and have kept
installing and uninstalling Micro trend a couple of times (keeps crashing),
now I've removed it completely and can't turn on Windows firewall; I get 2
error messages: first one says: security center can't turn on Windows
firewall and then when I try to do it manually, as suggested, I try 'update
settings' and get another message: Windows firewall was unable to make the
requested updates.
If I remember correctly I had the same problem when I tried One care before
going for Micro trend. Can anybody help? I use Vista
 

My Computer

D

Dwarf

#2
Hi Lorilo,

The problem is most likely to be caused by a conflict between the two
programs. This is why it is never a good idea to run more than one Internet
Security program on a machine at the same time - indeed, it is also not a
good idea to have more than one installed at the same time. For your
information, I use Kaspersky Internet Security 7.0 and have had no problems
with it at all. The safest way to solve your problem would be to reinstall
Vista and only install the actual Internet Security program that you plan to
be using.
Dwarf

"Lorrilo" wrote:

> I installed PC cillin in October and upgraded to Trend Micro Internet
> security yesterday; since then I have nothing but problems and have kept
> installing and uninstalling Micro trend a couple of times (keeps crashing),
> now I've removed it completely and can't turn on Windows firewall; I get 2
> error messages: first one says: security center can't turn on Windows
> firewall and then when I try to do it manually, as suggested, I try 'update
> settings' and get another message: Windows firewall was unable to make the
> requested updates.
> If I remember correctly I had the same problem when I tried One care before
> going for Micro trend. Can anybody help? I use Vista
 

My Computer

L

Lorrilo

#3
Thanks but I' rather not re-install Vista as I'm not that good a pc
programming and wouldn't really know where to start - unless I follow an
idiot's guide that is!! - anything else simpler?

"Dwarf" wrote:

> Hi Lorilo,
>
> The problem is most likely to be caused by a conflict between the two
> programs. This is why it is never a good idea to run more than one Internet
> Security program on a machine at the same time - indeed, it is also not a
> good idea to have more than one installed at the same time. For your
> information, I use Kaspersky Internet Security 7.0 and have had no problems
> with it at all. The safest way to solve your problem would be to reinstall
> Vista and only install the actual Internet Security program that you plan to
> be using.
> Dwarf
>
> "Lorrilo" wrote:
>

> > I installed PC cillin in October and upgraded to Trend Micro Internet
> > security yesterday; since then I have nothing but problems and have kept
> > installing and uninstalling Micro trend a couple of times (keeps crashing),
> > now I've removed it completely and can't turn on Windows firewall; I get 2
> > error messages: first one says: security center can't turn on Windows
> > firewall and then when I try to do it manually, as suggested, I try 'update
> > settings' and get another message: Windows firewall was unable to make the
> > requested updates.
> > If I remember correctly I had the same problem when I tried One care before
> > going for Micro trend. Can anybody help? I use Vista
 

My Computer

D

Dwarf

#4
Hi Lorillo,

Assuming that you are using an upgrade version, then if you follow the
instructions in my post 'Clean Install Windows Vista Using Upgrade Media',
also in this newsgroup (dated 9/21/2007), you should be able to solve this
problem. If, however, your version is a full version then you can still
follow this post, but obviously you will not need to perform a second upgrade
installation. In this case, at Step 2 you should enter the Product Key. Also,
Steps 3-9 will obviously be inapplicable and, after installation, you should
continue directly to Step 10.
Dwarf

http://www.microsoft.com/communitie...2be7&mid=c2e2a2bd-c0ed-4c78-ae89-5eb74dcf2be7



"Lorrilo" wrote:

> Thanks but I' rather not re-install Vista as I'm not that good a pc
> programming and wouldn't really know where to start - unless I follow an
> idiot's guide that is!! - anything else simpler?
>
> "Dwarf" wrote:
>

> > Hi Lorilo,
> >
> > The problem is most likely to be caused by a conflict between the two
> > programs. This is why it is never a good idea to run more than one Internet
> > Security program on a machine at the same time - indeed, it is also not a
> > good idea to have more than one installed at the same time. For your
> > information, I use Kaspersky Internet Security 7.0 and have had no problems
> > with it at all. The safest way to solve your problem would be to reinstall
> > Vista and only install the actual Internet Security program that you plan to
> > be using.
> > Dwarf
> >
> > "Lorrilo" wrote:
> >

> > > I installed PC cillin in October and upgraded to Trend Micro Internet
> > > security yesterday; since then I have nothing but problems and have kept
> > > installing and uninstalling Micro trend a couple of times (keeps crashing),
> > > now I've removed it completely and can't turn on Windows firewall; I get 2
> > > error messages: first one says: security center can't turn on Windows
> > > firewall and then when I try to do it manually, as suggested, I try 'update
> > > settings' and get another message: Windows firewall was unable to make the
> > > requested updates.
> > > If I remember correctly I had the same problem when I tried One care before
> > > going for Micro trend. Can anybody help? I use Vista
 

My Computer

L

Lorrilo

#5
It is a full version. So do I just click on the link and follow the
intructions? and will I lose all the stuff I've installed since I got my
laptop (Microsoft office suite, emails etc?) Sorry to be such an ignoramus!!
Regards

"Dwarf" wrote:

> Hi Lorillo,
>
> Assuming that you are using an upgrade version, then if you follow the
> instructions in my post 'Clean Install Windows Vista Using Upgrade Media',
> also in this newsgroup (dated 9/21/2007), you should be able to solve this
> problem. If, however, your version is a full version then you can still
> follow this post, but obviously you will not need to perform a second upgrade
> installation. In this case, at Step 2 you should enter the Product Key. Also,
> Steps 3-9 will obviously be inapplicable and, after installation, you should
> continue directly to Step 10.
> Dwarf
>
> http://www.microsoft.com/communitie...2be7&mid=c2e2a2bd-c0ed-4c78-ae89-5eb74dcf2be7
>
>
>
> "Lorrilo" wrote:
>

> > Thanks but I' rather not re-install Vista as I'm not that good a pc
> > programming and wouldn't really know where to start - unless I follow an
> > idiot's guide that is!! - anything else simpler?
> >
> > "Dwarf" wrote:
> >

> > > Hi Lorilo,
> > >
> > > The problem is most likely to be caused by a conflict between the two
> > > programs. This is why it is never a good idea to run more than one Internet
> > > Security program on a machine at the same time - indeed, it is also not a
> > > good idea to have more than one installed at the same time. For your
> > > information, I use Kaspersky Internet Security 7.0 and have had no problems
> > > with it at all. The safest way to solve your problem would be to reinstall
> > > Vista and only install the actual Internet Security program that you plan to
> > > be using.
> > > Dwarf
> > >
> > > "Lorrilo" wrote:
> > >
> > > > I installed PC cillin in October and upgraded to Trend Micro Internet
> > > > security yesterday; since then I have nothing but problems and have kept
> > > > installing and uninstalling Micro trend a couple of times (keeps crashing),
> > > > now I've removed it completely and can't turn on Windows firewall; I get 2
> > > > error messages: first one says: security center can't turn on Windows
> > > > firewall and then when I try to do it manually, as suggested, I try 'update
> > > > settings' and get another message: Windows firewall was unable to make the
> > > > requested updates.
> > > > If I remember correctly I had the same problem when I tried One care before
> > > > going for Micro trend. Can anybody help? I use Vista
 

My Computer

D

Dwarf

#6
Hi Lorilo,

Yes, you will lose everything. However, what I advise you to do would be to
do a backup of all of your data files to removeable media. You should be able
to use the copy function in explorer to do this. Remember to check that this
backup contains
everything that you need and that it is working correctly BEFORE you do your
reinstallation. The actual programs (Microsoft office suite, etc) WILL need
reinstalling as well. Depending on your ISP, your emails may be able to be
saved on the server for later retrieval. This is true for IMAP accounts, if
yours is a POP3 account then perhaps someone else can advise on this.
Dwarf

"Lorrilo" wrote:

> It is a full version. So do I just click on the link and follow the
> intructions? and will I lose all the stuff I've installed since I got my
> laptop (Microsoft office suite, emails etc?) Sorry to be such an ignoramus!!
> Regards
>
> "Dwarf" wrote:
>

> > Hi Lorillo,
> >
> > Assuming that you are using an upgrade version, then if you follow the
> > instructions in my post 'Clean Install Windows Vista Using Upgrade Media',
> > also in this newsgroup (dated 9/21/2007), you should be able to solve this
> > problem. If, however, your version is a full version then you can still
> > follow this post, but obviously you will not need to perform a second upgrade
> > installation. In this case, at Step 2 you should enter the Product Key. Also,
> > Steps 3-9 will obviously be inapplicable and, after installation, you should
> > continue directly to Step 10.
> > Dwarf
> >
> > http://www.microsoft.com/communitie...2be7&mid=c2e2a2bd-c0ed-4c78-ae89-5eb74dcf2be7
> >
> >
> >
> > "Lorrilo" wrote:
> >

> > > Thanks but I' rather not re-install Vista as I'm not that good a pc
> > > programming and wouldn't really know where to start - unless I follow an
> > > idiot's guide that is!! - anything else simpler?
> > >
> > > "Dwarf" wrote:
> > >
> > > > Hi Lorilo,
> > > >
> > > > The problem is most likely to be caused by a conflict between the two
> > > > programs. This is why it is never a good idea to run more than one Internet
> > > > Security program on a machine at the same time - indeed, it is also not a
> > > > good idea to have more than one installed at the same time. For your
> > > > information, I use Kaspersky Internet Security 7.0 and have had no problems
> > > > with it at all. The safest way to solve your problem would be to reinstall
> > > > Vista and only install the actual Internet Security program that you plan to
> > > > be using.
> > > > Dwarf
> > > >
> > > > "Lorrilo" wrote:
> > > >
> > > > > I installed PC cillin in October and upgraded to Trend Micro Internet
> > > > > security yesterday; since then I have nothing but problems and have kept
> > > > > installing and uninstalling Micro trend a couple of times (keeps crashing),
> > > > > now I've removed it completely and can't turn on Windows firewall; I get 2
> > > > > error messages: first one says: security center can't turn on Windows
> > > > > firewall and then when I try to do it manually, as suggested, I try 'update
> > > > > settings' and get another message: Windows firewall was unable to make the
> > > > > requested updates.
> > > > > If I remember correctly I had the same problem when I tried One care before
> > > > > going for Micro trend. Can anybody help? I use Vista
 

My Computer

L

Lorrilo

#7
Well Dwarf, thank you very much I am very grateful. I've just bought a USB
flash drive so I will do what you suggest. I'll be in touch soon to confirm
everything's working (or to cry that nothing's working anymore and I need
even more help!!)
Kind regards

"Dwarf" wrote:

> Hi Lorilo,
>
> Yes, you will lose everything. However, what I advise you to do would be to
> do a backup of all of your data files to removeable media. You should be able
> to use the copy function in explorer to do this. Remember to check that this
> backup contains
> everything that you need and that it is working correctly BEFORE you do your
> reinstallation. The actual programs (Microsoft office suite, etc) WILL need
> reinstalling as well. Depending on your ISP, your emails may be able to be
> saved on the server for later retrieval. This is true for IMAP accounts, if
> yours is a POP3 account then perhaps someone else can advise on this.
> Dwarf
>
> "Lorrilo" wrote:
>

> > It is a full version. So do I just click on the link and follow the
> > intructions? and will I lose all the stuff I've installed since I got my
> > laptop (Microsoft office suite, emails etc?) Sorry to be such an ignoramus!!
> > Regards
> >
> > "Dwarf" wrote:
> >

> > > Hi Lorillo,
> > >
> > > Assuming that you are using an upgrade version, then if you follow the
> > > instructions in my post 'Clean Install Windows Vista Using Upgrade Media',
> > > also in this newsgroup (dated 9/21/2007), you should be able to solve this
> > > problem. If, however, your version is a full version then you can still
> > > follow this post, but obviously you will not need to perform a second upgrade
> > > installation. In this case, at Step 2 you should enter the Product Key. Also,
> > > Steps 3-9 will obviously be inapplicable and, after installation, you should
> > > continue directly to Step 10.
> > > Dwarf
> > >
> > > http://www.microsoft.com/communitie...2be7&mid=c2e2a2bd-c0ed-4c78-ae89-5eb74dcf2be7
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > "Lorrilo" wrote:
> > >
> > > > Thanks but I' rather not re-install Vista as I'm not that good a pc
> > > > programming and wouldn't really know where to start - unless I follow an
> > > > idiot's guide that is!! - anything else simpler?
> > > >
> > > > "Dwarf" wrote:
> > > >
> > > > > Hi Lorilo,
> > > > >
> > > > > The problem is most likely to be caused by a conflict between the two
> > > > > programs. This is why it is never a good idea to run more than one Internet
> > > > > Security program on a machine at the same time - indeed, it is also not a
> > > > > good idea to have more than one installed at the same time. For your
> > > > > information, I use Kaspersky Internet Security 7.0 and have had no problems
> > > > > with it at all. The safest way to solve your problem would be to reinstall
> > > > > Vista and only install the actual Internet Security program that you plan to
> > > > > be using.
> > > > > Dwarf
> > > > >
> > > > > "Lorrilo" wrote:
> > > > >
> > > > > > I installed PC cillin in October and upgraded to Trend Micro Internet
> > > > > > security yesterday; since then I have nothing but problems and have kept
> > > > > > installing and uninstalling Micro trend a couple of times (keeps crashing),
> > > > > > now I've removed it completely and can't turn on Windows firewall; I get 2
> > > > > > error messages: first one says: security center can't turn on Windows
> > > > > > firewall and then when I try to do it manually, as suggested, I try 'update
> > > > > > settings' and get another message: Windows firewall was unable to make the
> > > > > > requested updates.
> > > > > > If I remember correctly I had the same problem when I tried One care before
> > > > > > going for Micro trend. Can anybody help? I use Vista
 

My Computer

M

Mick Murphy

#8
http://www.avast.com/eng/download-avast-home.html

Download and save the above anti-virus program to your Desktop; do NOT
install at this stage!

Uninstall Trend micro from your computer altogether.

Double-click on the Avast file, install and it will auto update.

Vista'a Firewall will turn itself back on; or allow you to do it!

An easier way than redoing your computer.


"Lorrilo" wrote:

> Well Dwarf, thank you very much I am very grateful. I've just bought a USB
> flash drive so I will do what you suggest. I'll be in touch soon to confirm
> everything's working (or to cry that nothing's working anymore and I need
> even more help!!)
> Kind regards
>
> "Dwarf" wrote:
>

> > Hi Lorilo,
> >
> > Yes, you will lose everything. However, what I advise you to do would be to
> > do a backup of all of your data files to removeable media. You should be able
> > to use the copy function in explorer to do this. Remember to check that this
> > backup contains
> > everything that you need and that it is working correctly BEFORE you do your
> > reinstallation. The actual programs (Microsoft office suite, etc) WILL need
> > reinstalling as well. Depending on your ISP, your emails may be able to be
> > saved on the server for later retrieval. This is true for IMAP accounts, if
> > yours is a POP3 account then perhaps someone else can advise on this.
> > Dwarf
> >
> > "Lorrilo" wrote:
> >

> > > It is a full version. So do I just click on the link and follow the
> > > intructions? and will I lose all the stuff I've installed since I got my
> > > laptop (Microsoft office suite, emails etc?) Sorry to be such an ignoramus!!
> > > Regards
> > >
> > > "Dwarf" wrote:
> > >
> > > > Hi Lorillo,
> > > >
> > > > Assuming that you are using an upgrade version, then if you follow the
> > > > instructions in my post 'Clean Install Windows Vista Using Upgrade Media',
> > > > also in this newsgroup (dated 9/21/2007), you should be able to solve this
> > > > problem. If, however, your version is a full version then you can still
> > > > follow this post, but obviously you will not need to perform a second upgrade
> > > > installation. In this case, at Step 2 you should enter the Product Key. Also,
> > > > Steps 3-9 will obviously be inapplicable and, after installation, you should
> > > > continue directly to Step 10.
> > > > Dwarf
> > > >
> > > > http://www.microsoft.com/communitie...2be7&mid=c2e2a2bd-c0ed-4c78-ae89-5eb74dcf2be7
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > "Lorrilo" wrote:
> > > >
> > > > > Thanks but I' rather not re-install Vista as I'm not that good a pc
> > > > > programming and wouldn't really know where to start - unless I follow an
> > > > > idiot's guide that is!! - anything else simpler?
> > > > >
> > > > > "Dwarf" wrote:
> > > > >
> > > > > > Hi Lorilo,
> > > > > >
> > > > > > The problem is most likely to be caused by a conflict between the two
> > > > > > programs. This is why it is never a good idea to run more than one Internet
> > > > > > Security program on a machine at the same time - indeed, it is also not a
> > > > > > good idea to have more than one installed at the same time. For your
> > > > > > information, I use Kaspersky Internet Security 7.0 and have had no problems
> > > > > > with it at all. The safest way to solve your problem would be to reinstall
> > > > > > Vista and only install the actual Internet Security program that you plan to
> > > > > > be using.
> > > > > > Dwarf
> > > > > >
> > > > > > "Lorrilo" wrote:
> > > > > >
> > > > > > > I installed PC cillin in October and upgraded to Trend Micro Internet
> > > > > > > security yesterday; since then I have nothing but problems and have kept
> > > > > > > installing and uninstalling Micro trend a couple of times (keeps crashing),
> > > > > > > now I've removed it completely and can't turn on Windows firewall; I get 2
> > > > > > > error messages: first one says: security center can't turn on Windows
> > > > > > > firewall and then when I try to do it manually, as suggested, I try 'update
> > > > > > > settings' and get another message: Windows firewall was unable to make the
> > > > > > > requested updates.
> > > > > > > If I remember correctly I had the same problem when I tried One care before
> > > > > > > going for Micro trend. Can anybody help? I use Vista
 

My Computer

L

Lorrilo

#9
Hi. Started downloading, nearly finished and laptop crashed!! so I'll try
again and hopefully will work. Ta.

"Mick Murphy" wrote:

> http://www.avast.com/eng/download-avast-home.html
>
> Download and save the above anti-virus program to your Desktop; do NOT
> install at this stage!
>
> Uninstall Trend micro from your computer altogether.
>
> Double-click on the Avast file, install and it will auto update.
>
> Vista'a Firewall will turn itself back on; or allow you to do it!
>
> An easier way than redoing your computer.
>
>
> "Lorrilo" wrote:
>

> > Well Dwarf, thank you very much I am very grateful. I've just bought a USB
> > flash drive so I will do what you suggest. I'll be in touch soon to confirm
> > everything's working (or to cry that nothing's working anymore and I need
> > even more help!!)
> > Kind regards
> >
> > "Dwarf" wrote:
> >

> > > Hi Lorilo,
> > >
> > > Yes, you will lose everything. However, what I advise you to do would be to
> > > do a backup of all of your data files to removeable media. You should be able
> > > to use the copy function in explorer to do this. Remember to check that this
> > > backup contains
> > > everything that you need and that it is working correctly BEFORE you do your
> > > reinstallation. The actual programs (Microsoft office suite, etc) WILL need
> > > reinstalling as well. Depending on your ISP, your emails may be able to be
> > > saved on the server for later retrieval. This is true for IMAP accounts, if
> > > yours is a POP3 account then perhaps someone else can advise on this.
> > > Dwarf
> > >
> > > "Lorrilo" wrote:
> > >
> > > > It is a full version. So do I just click on the link and follow the
> > > > intructions? and will I lose all the stuff I've installed since I got my
> > > > laptop (Microsoft office suite, emails etc?) Sorry to be such an ignoramus!!
> > > > Regards
> > > >
> > > > "Dwarf" wrote:
> > > >
> > > > > Hi Lorillo,
> > > > >
> > > > > Assuming that you are using an upgrade version, then if you follow the
> > > > > instructions in my post 'Clean Install Windows Vista Using Upgrade Media',
> > > > > also in this newsgroup (dated 9/21/2007), you should be able to solve this
> > > > > problem. If, however, your version is a full version then you can still
> > > > > follow this post, but obviously you will not need to perform a second upgrade
> > > > > installation. In this case, at Step 2 you should enter the Product Key. Also,
> > > > > Steps 3-9 will obviously be inapplicable and, after installation, you should
> > > > > continue directly to Step 10.
> > > > > Dwarf
> > > > >
> > > > > http://www.microsoft.com/communitie...2be7&mid=c2e2a2bd-c0ed-4c78-ae89-5eb74dcf2be7
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > > "Lorrilo" wrote:
> > > > >
> > > > > > Thanks but I' rather not re-install Vista as I'm not that good a pc
> > > > > > programming and wouldn't really know where to start - unless I follow an
> > > > > > idiot's guide that is!! - anything else simpler?
> > > > > >
> > > > > > "Dwarf" wrote:
> > > > > >
> > > > > > > Hi Lorilo,
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > > The problem is most likely to be caused by a conflict between the two
> > > > > > > programs. This is why it is never a good idea to run more than one Internet
> > > > > > > Security program on a machine at the same time - indeed, it is also not a
> > > > > > > good idea to have more than one installed at the same time. For your
> > > > > > > information, I use Kaspersky Internet Security 7.0 and have had no problems
> > > > > > > with it at all. The safest way to solve your problem would be to reinstall
> > > > > > > Vista and only install the actual Internet Security program that you plan to
> > > > > > > be using.
> > > > > > > Dwarf
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > > "Lorrilo" wrote:
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > > > I installed PC cillin in October and upgraded to Trend Micro Internet
> > > > > > > > security yesterday; since then I have nothing but problems and have kept
> > > > > > > > installing and uninstalling Micro trend a couple of times (keeps crashing),
> > > > > > > > now I've removed it completely and can't turn on Windows firewall; I get 2
> > > > > > > > error messages: first one says: security center can't turn on Windows
> > > > > > > > firewall and then when I try to do it manually, as suggested, I try 'update
> > > > > > > > settings' and get another message: Windows firewall was unable to make the
> > > > > > > > requested updates.
> > > > > > > > If I remember correctly I had the same problem when I tried One care before
> > > > > > > > going for Micro trend. Can anybody help? I use Vista
 

My Computer

R

RalfG

#10
A couple of things to try;

-check that the Windows Firewall service is set to automatic start--
Administrative Tools-Services - Windows Firewall - double click the entry
and set the startup type to Automatic. There is also a manual start button
to get it running immediately. If that doesn't help or if the startup
setting is already automatic check at Trend Micro if they have a utility to
completely remove their product.. some of these programs do not uninstall
cleanly using the normal method.

You can also resort to a Vista system restore. Pick the most recent restore
point before you installed the Trend Micro suite. That usually fixes things.

"Lorrilo" <Lorrilo@xxxxxx> wrote in message
news:61D05659-0FD8-4F31-A054-D30A2EEEC91D@xxxxxx

> Thanks but I' rather not re-install Vista as I'm not that good a pc
> programming and wouldn't really know where to start - unless I follow an
> idiot's guide that is!! - anything else simpler?
>
> "Dwarf" wrote:
>

>> Hi Lorilo,
>>
>> The problem is most likely to be caused by a conflict between the two
>> programs. This is why it is never a good idea to run more than one
>> Internet
>> Security program on a machine at the same time - indeed, it is also not a
>> good idea to have more than one installed at the same time. For your
>> information, I use Kaspersky Internet Security 7.0 and have had no
>> problems
>> with it at all. The safest way to solve your problem would be to
>> reinstall
>> Vista and only install the actual Internet Security program that you plan
>> to
>> be using.
>> Dwarf
>>
>> "Lorrilo" wrote:
>>

>> > I installed PC cillin in October and upgraded to Trend Micro Internet
>> > security yesterday; since then I have nothing but problems and have
>> > kept
>> > installing and uninstalling Micro trend a couple of times (keeps
>> > crashing),
>> > now I've removed it completely and can't turn on Windows firewall; I
>> > get 2
>> > error messages: first one says: security center can't turn on Windows
>> > firewall and then when I try to do it manually, as suggested, I try
>> > 'update
>> > settings' and get another message: Windows firewall was unable to make
>> > the
>> > requested updates.
>> > If I remember correctly I had the same problem when I tried One care
>> > before
>> > going for Micro trend. Can anybody help? I use Vista
 

My Computer

L

Lorrilo

#11
Thank you all but so far, everything I've tried has failed. I went in the
admin tools and there was an error opening the firewall (it won't load);
downloading Avast failed miserably (keep crashing computer!). I'd already
tried a restore point... I think I'm gonna take it to work and ask the IT guy
to have a look and I'll get back to you with results (hopefully good ones!).

"RalfG" wrote:

> A couple of things to try;
>
> -check that the Windows Firewall service is set to automatic start--
> Administrative Tools-Services - Windows Firewall - double click the entry
> and set the startup type to Automatic. There is also a manual start button
> to get it running immediately. If that doesn't help or if the startup
> setting is already automatic check at Trend Micro if they have a utility to
> completely remove their product.. some of these programs do not uninstall
> cleanly using the normal method.
>
> You can also resort to a Vista system restore. Pick the most recent restore
> point before you installed the Trend Micro suite. That usually fixes things.
>
> "Lorrilo" <Lorrilo@xxxxxx> wrote in message
> news:61D05659-0FD8-4F31-A054-D30A2EEEC91D@xxxxxx

> > Thanks but I' rather not re-install Vista as I'm not that good a pc
> > programming and wouldn't really know where to start - unless I follow an
> > idiot's guide that is!! - anything else simpler?
> >
> > "Dwarf" wrote:
> >

> >> Hi Lorilo,
> >>
> >> The problem is most likely to be caused by a conflict between the two
> >> programs. This is why it is never a good idea to run more than one
> >> Internet
> >> Security program on a machine at the same time - indeed, it is also not a
> >> good idea to have more than one installed at the same time. For your
> >> information, I use Kaspersky Internet Security 7.0 and have had no
> >> problems
> >> with it at all. The safest way to solve your problem would be to
> >> reinstall
> >> Vista and only install the actual Internet Security program that you plan
> >> to
> >> be using.
> >> Dwarf
> >>
> >> "Lorrilo" wrote:
> >>
> >> > I installed PC cillin in October and upgraded to Trend Micro Internet
> >> > security yesterday; since then I have nothing but problems and have
> >> > kept
> >> > installing and uninstalling Micro trend a couple of times (keeps
> >> > crashing),
> >> > now I've removed it completely and can't turn on Windows firewall; I
> >> > get 2
> >> > error messages: first one says: security center can't turn on Windows
> >> > firewall and then when I try to do it manually, as suggested, I try
> >> > 'update
> >> > settings' and get another message: Windows firewall was unable to make
> >> > the
> >> > requested updates.
> >> > If I remember correctly I had the same problem when I tried One care
> >> > before
> >> > going for Micro trend. Can anybody help? I use Vista
>
>
 

My Computer

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 0)