Foldershare thinks I am on a differnt laptop

M

MMPDavidL

For some reason, live sync asked me to log back in on my laptop. When I did,
it thinks it is a different laptop and took my original computer name and
added a 1 to the end. Now it wants me to set everything back up on this
laptop. I'd rather not because I'm concerned what might happen to my linked
folders... I don't want them suddenly disappearing or losing data. Any
suggestions are appreciated. And no, nothing has changed on my laptop. Thanks!
 

My Computer

K

KyongHwan Kim [MSFT]

It appears that *user's settings file got corrupted for whatever reasons.
*C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Live Sync\settings
(Note: manually changing the file improperly might cause unexpected result)

Was there any event might have corrupted the setting file right before log back in on your laptop?
for instance, force reboot after install Windows updates, real time file scanning running by anti-virus application, blue screen,
etc

I'm not sure what caused the file to be corrupted, but once that happens all of your folders mapping information on the machine gets
lost unfortunately, however, if you sign in with same account, all of your folders shows up as unmapped state. You need to map all
of your folders through website again because the machine is now considered as a new machine from Sync perspective.
You can rename computer name via Sync website.

Thanks!

"MMPDavidL" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]
For some reason, live sync asked me to log back in on my laptop. When I did,
it thinks it is a different laptop and took my original computer name and
added a 1 to the end. Now it wants me to set everything back up on this
laptop. I'd rather not because I'm concerned what might happen to my linked
folders... I don't want them suddenly disappearing or losing data. Any
suggestions are appreciated. And no, nothing has changed on my laptop. Thanks!
 

My Computer

M

MMPDavidL

Thanks for the reply. This has actually happened a second time and now has
added a 2 to the end of the laptop name. Will restoring the corrupted file
from a backup fix this so I don't have to remap everything again? Thanks for
your help.

"KyongHwan Kim [MSFT]" wrote:

> It appears that *user's settings file got corrupted for whatever reasons.
> *C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Live Sync\settings
> (Note: manually changing the file improperly might cause unexpected result)
>
> Was there any event might have corrupted the setting file right before log back in on your laptop?
> for instance, force reboot after install Windows updates, real time file scanning running by anti-virus application, blue screen,
> etc
>
> I'm not sure what caused the file to be corrupted, but once that happens all of your folders mapping information on the machine gets
> lost unfortunately, however, if you sign in with same account, all of your folders shows up as unmapped state. You need to map all
> of your folders through website again because the machine is now considered as a new machine from Sync perspective.
> You can rename computer name via Sync website.
>
> Thanks!
>
> "MMPDavidL" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]
> For some reason, live sync asked me to log back in on my laptop. When I did,
> it thinks it is a different laptop and took my original computer name and
> added a 1 to the end. Now it wants me to set everything back up on this
> laptop. I'd rather not because I'm concerned what might happen to my linked
> folders... I don't want them suddenly disappearing or losing data. Any
> suggestions are appreciated. And no, nothing has changed on my laptop. Thanks!
>
 

My Computer

Top