• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Harddisk problem

A

Alan T

#1
My harddisk had recently installed Vista but then got a problem could not
boot up.
So I need to reinstall Vista.
However, in the beginning of the re-installation, Vista detected my harddisk
had prvious Vista and said all files will be put into a separate folder,
that's fine.
Then it showed the partition table that I selected the primary partition
(100 GB of 320 GB space) , when I click the partition, the message at the
bottom of the screen showed the message:
"This disk may fail soon. if other harddisk are available, install Windows
to another location."
Then I click next and go ahead.
This time re-installation finished the steps: Copy files, Expand files,
Install features, Install updates but said "Cannot goto next phase of
installation".

I need to reinstall, this time I deleted my 100Gb partition and format the
whole space (320 GB) and went thro the all steps and finished.

Vista installation seems detected my harddisk had a problem, but no idea
what problem it is.
Actually, in my previous Vista in this harddisk, it alwasys pop up a box say
the harddisk had a problem, telling me to backup the data.

My harddisk is Seagate 320GB, 16 MB cache one.
 

My Computer

S

Saucy

#2
"Alan T" <alanNOSPAMpltse@xxxxxx> wrote in message
news:ulxl0NA9HHA.2004@xxxxxx

> My harddisk had recently installed Vista but then got a problem could not
> boot up.
> So I need to reinstall Vista.
> However, in the beginning of the re-installation, Vista detected my
> harddisk
> had prvious Vista and said all files will be put into a separate folder,
> that's fine.
> Then it showed the partition table that I selected the primary partition
> (100 GB of 320 GB space) , when I click the partition, the message at the
> bottom of the screen showed the message:
> "This disk may fail soon. if other harddisk are available, install Windows
> to another location."
> Then I click next and go ahead.
> This time re-installation finished the steps: Copy files, Expand files,
> Install features, Install updates but said "Cannot goto next phase of
> installation".
>
> I need to reinstall, this time I deleted my 100Gb partition and format the
> whole space (320 GB) and went thro the all steps and finished.
>
> Vista installation seems detected my harddisk had a problem, but no idea
> what problem it is.
> Actually, in my previous Vista in this harddisk, it alwasys pop up a box
> say
> the harddisk had a problem, telling me to backup the data.
>
> My harddisk is Seagate 320GB, 16 MB cache one.
>
>

Well you could run chkdsk (full) and do other harddrive diagnostics. Your
harddrive may be failing, so if you have important files on there consider
backing up to another location.

If it is your harddrive then you will need another. Many harddrives have a
year warranty or more, so you can return it and will receive an equivalent.

Saucy
 

My Computer

A

Alan T

#3
So in what situation I can return to the vendor (Seagate)?
ie. how can I tell the evidence that the harddisk is dead?

"Saucy" <saucy538347334873772.sjhdf@xxxxxx> wrote in message
news:OADfFfA9HHA.1204@xxxxxx

> "Alan T" <alanNOSPAMpltse@xxxxxx> wrote in message
> news:ulxl0NA9HHA.2004@xxxxxx

> > My harddisk had recently installed Vista but then got a problem could
not

> > boot up.
> > So I need to reinstall Vista.
> > However, in the beginning of the re-installation, Vista detected my
> > harddisk
> > had prvious Vista and said all files will be put into a separate folder,
> > that's fine.
> > Then it showed the partition table that I selected the primary partition
> > (100 GB of 320 GB space) , when I click the partition, the message at
the

> > bottom of the screen showed the message:
> > "This disk may fail soon. if other harddisk are available, install
Windows

> > to another location."
> > Then I click next and go ahead.
> > This time re-installation finished the steps: Copy files, Expand files,
> > Install features, Install updates but said "Cannot goto next phase of
> > installation".
> >
> > I need to reinstall, this time I deleted my 100Gb partition and format
the

> > whole space (320 GB) and went thro the all steps and finished.
> >
> > Vista installation seems detected my harddisk had a problem, but no idea
> > what problem it is.
> > Actually, in my previous Vista in this harddisk, it alwasys pop up a box
> > say
> > the harddisk had a problem, telling me to backup the data.
> >
> > My harddisk is Seagate 320GB, 16 MB cache one.
> >
> >
>
>
> Well you could run chkdsk (full) and do other harddrive diagnostics. Your
> harddrive may be failing, so if you have important files on there consider
> backing up to another location.
>
> If it is your harddrive then you will need another. Many harddrives have a
> year warranty or more, so you can return it and will receive an
equivalent.

>
> Saucy
>
 

My Computer

S

Saucy

#4
"Alan T" <alanNOSPAMpltse@xxxxxx> wrote in message
news:exzutbB9HHA.5316@xxxxxx

> So in what situation I can return to the vendor (Seagate)?
> ie. how can I tell the evidence that the harddisk is dead?
>
> "Saucy" <saucy538347334873772.sjhdf@xxxxxx> wrote in message
> news:OADfFfA9HHA.1204@xxxxxx

>> "Alan T" <alanNOSPAMpltse@xxxxxx> wrote in message
>> news:ulxl0NA9HHA.2004@xxxxxx

>> > My harddisk had recently installed Vista but then got a problem could
> not

>> > boot up.
>> > So I need to reinstall Vista.
>> > However, in the beginning of the re-installation, Vista detected my
>> > harddisk
>> > had prvious Vista and said all files will be put into a separate
>> > folder,
>> > that's fine.
>> > Then it showed the partition table that I selected the primary
>> > partition
>> > (100 GB of 320 GB space) , when I click the partition, the message at
> the

>> > bottom of the screen showed the message:
>> > "This disk may fail soon. if other harddisk are available, install
> Windows

>> > to another location."
>> > Then I click next and go ahead.
>> > This time re-installation finished the steps: Copy files, Expand files,
>> > Install features, Install updates but said "Cannot goto next phase of
>> > installation".
>> >
>> > I need to reinstall, this time I deleted my 100Gb partition and format
> the

>> > whole space (320 GB) and went thro the all steps and finished.
>> >
>> > Vista installation seems detected my harddisk had a problem, but no
>> > idea
>> > what problem it is.
>> > Actually, in my previous Vista in this harddisk, it alwasys pop up a
>> > box
>> > say
>> > the harddisk had a problem, telling me to backup the data.
>> >
>> > My harddisk is Seagate 320GB, 16 MB cache one.
>> >
>> >
>>
>>
>> Well you could run chkdsk (full) and do other harddrive diagnostics. Your
>> harddrive may be failing, so if you have important files on there
>> consider
>> backing up to another location.
>>
>> If it is your harddrive then you will need another. Many harddrives have
>> a
>> year warranty or more, so you can return it and will receive an
> equivalent.

>>
>> Saucy
>>
>
>

It's been a while. I used to run a full scandisk from a DOS floppy (the
Windows 98 boot disk) and one could get an actual visual count of sectors
gone bad. You might try out some of the tools Seagate offers for
diagnostics.

Anwyay, contact who you bought it from and tell them you know it has gone
south, and they should replace it for you on the spot - this is well the
best option, so make sure to convince them. It would help to have the
receipt. Otherwise you will have to go through Seagate. Do not remove any
seals from the drive nor open it. Doing so voids all warranties.

[Warranty and Returns Assistance - Seagate]
http://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/support/warranty_&_returns_assistance

[SeaTools - Seagate (watch the URL wrap)]
http://www.seagate.com/ww/v/index.j...toid=720bd20cacdec010VgnVCM100000dd04090aRCRD

Saucy
 

My Computer

#5
On Tue, 11 Sep 2007 09:36:44 +1000, Alan T wrote:

> My harddisk had recently installed Vista but then got a problem could not
> boot up.
> So I need to reinstall Vista.
> However, in the beginning of the re-installation, Vista detected my harddisk
> had prvious Vista and said all files will be put into a separate folder,
> that's fine.
> Then it showed the partition table that I selected the primary partition
> (100 GB of 320 GB space) , when I click the partition, the message at the
> bottom of the screen showed the message:
> "This disk may fail soon. if other harddisk are available, install Windows
> to another location."
> Then I click next and go ahead.
> This time re-installation finished the steps: Copy files, Expand files,
> Install features, Install updates but said "Cannot goto next phase of
> installation".
>
> I need to reinstall, this time I deleted my 100Gb partition and format the
> whole space (320 GB) and went thro the all steps and finished.
>
> Vista installation seems detected my harddisk had a problem, but no idea
> what problem it is.
> Actually, in my previous Vista in this harddisk, it alwasys pop up a box say
> the harddisk had a problem, telling me to backup the data.
>
> My harddisk is Seagate 320GB, 16 MB cache one.
Modern hard drives have a built in 'health' checker referred to as 'SMART'
- no, I don't recall the acronym. I'd suggest you check the drive SMART
status.
 

My Computer

A

Alan T

#6
Yes, my motherboard has this option in the BIOS, ie. S.M.A.R.T monitoring.
I once enabled it and the POST always telling me a harddisk has a problem.
However, it said channel 2 harddisk has a problem. The harddisk attach to
channel is fine. This warning only happens when I use this 'faulty' harddisk
to boot up. So I think the POST was referring to this harddisk but just
wonder why it said channel 2, it should be channel 1.

"ray" <ray@xxxxxx> wrote in message
news:pan.2007.09.11.15.45.01.41830@xxxxxx

> On Tue, 11 Sep 2007 09:36:44 +1000, Alan T wrote:
>

> > My harddisk had recently installed Vista but then got a problem could
not

> > boot up.
> > So I need to reinstall Vista.
> > However, in the beginning of the re-installation, Vista detected my
harddisk

> > had prvious Vista and said all files will be put into a separate folder,
> > that's fine.
> > Then it showed the partition table that I selected the primary partition
> > (100 GB of 320 GB space) , when I click the partition, the message at
the

> > bottom of the screen showed the message:
> > "This disk may fail soon. if other harddisk are available, install
Windows

> > to another location."
> > Then I click next and go ahead.
> > This time re-installation finished the steps: Copy files, Expand files,
> > Install features, Install updates but said "Cannot goto next phase of
> > installation".
> >
> > I need to reinstall, this time I deleted my 100Gb partition and format
the

> > whole space (320 GB) and went thro the all steps and finished.
> >
> > Vista installation seems detected my harddisk had a problem, but no idea
> > what problem it is.
> > Actually, in my previous Vista in this harddisk, it alwasys pop up a box
say

> > the harddisk had a problem, telling me to backup the data.
> >
> > My harddisk is Seagate 320GB, 16 MB cache one.
>
> Modern hard drives have a built in 'health' checker referred to as 'SMART'
> - no, I don't recall the acronym. I'd suggest you check the drive SMART
> status.
>
 

My Computer

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 0)