• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

How do I go back to the original version of Vista from Ultimate?

A

Arpad

#1
I made a mistake of trying to upgrade to the Ultimate version of Vista. The
laptop came with the basic version. I thought I had three licenses available.
I only had one and I already used it. Now I cannot use the laptop at all. I
do not need the Ultimate version so I do not want to pay for another license.
Vista now only allows me to select one of the many choices of purchasing a
license. Is there a way to get rid of the Ultimate version and go back to the
original one? Can I do that without loosing the data I have on the HD?
Thank you in advance
 
M

Malke

#2
Arpad wrote:

> I made a mistake of trying to upgrade to the Ultimate version of Vista.
> The laptop came with the basic version. I thought I had three licenses
> available. I only had one and I already used it. Now I cannot use the
> laptop at all. I do not need the Ultimate version so I do not want to pay
> for another license. Vista now only allows me to select one of the many
> choices of purchasing a license. Is there a way to get rid of the Ultimate
> version and go back to the original one? Can I do that without loosing the
> data I have on the HD? Thank you in advance
AFAIK you can't go back without doing a clean install. Back up your data and
restore your laptop to factory condition. Refer to the laptop manual or the
laptop mftr.'s tech support website for how to do that on your specific
model laptop.

Malke
--
MS-MVP
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
Don't Panic!
 

Brink

Staff member
mvp
#3
I made a mistake of trying to upgrade to the Ultimate version of Vista. The
laptop came with the basic version. I thought I had three licenses available.
I only had one and I already used it. Now I cannot use the laptop at all. I
do not need the Ultimate version so I do not want to pay for another license.
Vista now only allows me to select one of the many choices of purchasing a
license. Is there a way to get rid of the Ultimate version and go back to the
original one? Can I do that without loosing the data I have on the HD?
Thank you in advance
Hi Arpad,

You are in what is called "Reduced Functionality Mode". Follow the instrictions below the Example in this tutorial to get out of this and have another 30 days of fully functional trial of Vista Ultimate.

http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/121866-reduced-functionality-mode.html

When done, you can backup anything you do not want to lose. However, the only way to go back to Vista Basic is to do a complete clean reinstall.

Hope this helps you,
Shawn