• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Question about fully Delete & Block MSN Live Messenger

#1
Hi Jonathan,

I hope you will be able to read this thread. I have question about fully delete & Block MSN Live Messenger. I read your previously post. You said...

<<If someone has you on their main contact list, that Delete option won't be available. Once
they've removed you, it will become available and you should be able to remove them
completely. They shouldn't be coming back...>>

My question is that I've deleted this contact name from my blocked list. The contact name is no longer in my blocked list. So will this person be able to re-add me to her MSN Live Messenger as a new contact since her name is no longer in my blocked list? I hope I didn't confuse you with my question. Thank you for your time.

Sesame
 
J

Jonathan Kay [MVP]

#2
Greetings Sesame,

Yep, if they're not in the allow or blocked list, then they can just go ahead and re-add you
and you'll get the standard "Contact has added you" window when they do.

--
Jonathan Kay
Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger
MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger
MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com
Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com
(c) 2010 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation
--


"sesame" <guest@newsgroup-email.com> wrote in message
news:89193ea22486e64d02763cabc4c84dfa@newsgroup-gateway.com...

>
> Hi Jonathan,
>
> I hope you will be able to read this thread. I have question about fully
> delete & Block MSN Live Messenger. I read your previously post. You
> said...
>
> <<If someone has you on their main contact list, that Delete option
> won't be available. Once
> they've removed you, it will become available and you should be able to
> remove them
> completely. They shouldn't be coming back...>>
>
> My question is that I've deleted this contact name from my blocked list.
> The contact name is no longer in my blocked list. So will this person be
> able to re-add me to her MSN Live Messenger as a new contact since her
> name is no longer in my blocked list? I hope I didn't confuse you with
> my question. Thank you for your time.
>
> Sesame
>
>
> --
> sesame
 
#3
Hi Jonathan,

Thank you so much for your fast reply.

So that means if I don't want this person to re-contact me nor re-add me again. I'll need to add her back to my contact list, then do a delete and block her again? If so, when I add her back to my contact list. Will she be notify by msn that I'm adding her in my contact list?

Thank you very much again! :)

Sincerely,
Sesame
 
J

Jonathan Kay [MVP]

#4
Hi Sesame,

I'm afraid the answer to your question is maybe.

If you go ahead and re-add her to your contact list, block her and then delete her from your
contact list, and she's not online, she shouldn't receive a notification.

If she is online when you do this, then she should.

Also, this assumes everything is working correctly. Messenger add/remove contacts hasn't
been unreliable these past 8 months or so, so there really is no guarantee. Also with that
said, there is a small possibly you might still be on her allow or block list, in which case
she also wouldn't get the notification, even if she is online.

If you want my advice, I would just wait to see if she re-adds you, in which case, you can
just block her immediately from the "contact has added you" prompt. But if you really want
to go ahead, at least do it when you know she'll be asleep (which I suspect you probably are
more than aware of).

--
Jonathan Kay
Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger
MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger
MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com
Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com
(c) 2010 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation
--



"sesame" <guest@newsgroup-email.com> wrote in message
news:550ec93069736c8b514a7c134d62c40a@newsgroup-gateway.com...

>
> Hi Jonathan,
>
> Thank you so much for your fast reply.
>
> So that means if I don't want this person to re-contact me nor re-add me
> again. I'll need to add her back to my contact list, then do a delete
> and block her again? If so, when I add her back to my contact list.
> Will she be notify by msn that I'm adding her in my contact list?
>
> Thank you very much again! :)
>
> Sincerely,
> Sesame
>
>
> --
> sesame
 
#5
Hi Jonathan,

Thank you for your kind detailed reply.

Now I understand why you said "may be". :)
As I've deleted the blocked ID names from my blocked list on day 1.
However, the blocked ID names have all appeared back on my blocked list when I signed on the next day.

After reading your information.
I think it's better for me just leave all those blocked ID along in my blocked list instead of trying to delete them.
That way, at least I know I'll never hear from them again unless they sign up with another new hotmail account.

Thank you Jonathan!
You're so kind. :)

Have a great day!

Sesame