• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Shared folders - how to disable

M

Mulroy

#1
I don't know how this happened as I did NOT change or alter any settings. I
did surf the net yesterday.

Whenever I cut a folder and paste it elsewhere, it puts the two people
shared icon on it. When I hit the folder properties, it states that the
folder is not shared. When I go to delete the folder, it says it IS shared
and when I try to delete it, it locks up.

I do not want any of this shared folder stuff enabled. How do I get rid of
it?

If I copy - paste a folder, it does not put the share icon on it and does
the above.
If I cut - paste a folder, it does.
 

My Computer

locoeng

Flim-Flam Man
Vista Guru
Messages
445
Location
Charleston SC
#2

My Computer

System One

  • Manufacturer/Model
    Homebrew
    CPU
    Q6600 (G0) SLACR
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte EP35 DS3R
    Memory
    2 gigs G.Skill DDR2
    Graphics Card(s)
    XFX 8600GT
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Samsung T190 1440X900
    Screen Resolution
    1440X900
    Hard Drives
    2X Seagate 120 (OS's) IDE
    1X WD 750 SATA
    PSU
    Corsair HX520
    Case
    Coolmax el cheapo
    Cooling
    Rosewill HSF (soon to upgrade)
    Keyboard
    BTW low profile backlit/quiet key
M

Mulroy

#3
> You should be able to turn off sharing via networking in control

> panel...
Hello locoeng

I had never turned it on in the first place. I compared it to another Vista
computer that is not having this issue and theirs has the same settings for
that networking and sharing.
 

My Computer

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 0)