• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Vista Logon problem

R

Robbins

#1
When trying to logon on to my computer I get thr following message:
The User Profile Service service failed the logon.
User profile can not be loaded.

I am the computer admin and can not access anything. At first I thought it
was a password problem and found out that was fine. How do I get into the
system to fix this?
 

My Computer

Brink

Staff member
mvp
Messages
32,205
Location
Oklahoma, USA
#2
When trying to logon on to my computer I get thr following message:
The User Profile Service service failed the logon.
User profile can not be loaded.

I am the computer admin and can not access anything. At first I thought it
was a password problem and found out that was fine. How do I get into the
system to fix this?
Hi Robbins,

Try this solution. You will see ".bak" instead of ".bad" though. You may need to boot into safe mode to do this if you do not have a Administrator account available to logon to.

Nigels blog - of things tech: Fixing User Profiles in Vista

Shawn
 

My Computers

System One System Two

  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Maximus X Code Z370
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    256GB OCZ Vector,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    PSU
    Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
    Case
    Corsair Air 740
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Internet Speed
    300 Mb/s Download and 30 Mb/s Upload
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Creative F200 webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB6190 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL,
    Lumia 1520 phone
  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro
    Manufacturer/Model
    HP Envy Y0F94AV
    CPU
    i7-7500U @ 2.70 GHz
    Memory
    16 GB DDR4-2133
    Graphics card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
    Sound Card
    Conexant ISST Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    17.3" UHD IPS touch
    Screen Resolution
    3480 x 2160
    Hard Drives
    512 GB M.2 SSD
M

Mike Douglas

#3
Hey Brink,
So you mean to tell me that profile are controlled by the User Hive Profile
Service in Vista? If so that service has to run all the time eh? Thanks

MIke D

"brink" wrote:

>
> Robbins;538369 Wrote:

> > When trying to logon on to my computer I get thr following message:
> > The User Profile Service service failed the logon.
> > User profile can not be loaded.
> >
> > I am the computer admin and can not access anything. At first I thought
> > it
> > was a password problem and found out that was fine. How do I get into
> > the
> > system to fix this?
>
> Hi Robbins,
>
> Try this solution. You will see ".bak" instead of ".bad" though. You
> may need to boot into safe mode to do this if you do not have a
> Administrator account available to logon to.
>
> 'Nigels blog - of things tech: Fixing User Profiles in Vista'
> (http://cherrybyte.blogspot.com/2007/07/fixing-user-profiles-in-vista.html)
>
> Shawn
>
>
> --
> brink
>
> *There are no dumb questions, just the people that do not ask them.*
> WWW.VISTAX64.COM (\"HTTP://WWW.VISTAX64.COM\")
> *Please post feedback to help others.*
>
 

My Computer

Brink

Staff member
mvp
Messages
32,205
Location
Oklahoma, USA
#4
Hey Brink,
So you mean to tell me that profile are controlled by the User Hive Profile
Service in Vista? If so that service has to run all the time eh? Thanks

MIke D
------------------------------------
"brink" wrote:
> Hi Robbins,
>
> Try this solution. You will see ".bak" instead of ".bad" though. You
> may need to boot into safe mode to do this if you do not have a
> Administrator account available to logon to.
>
> 'Nigels blog - of things tech: Fixing User Profiles in Vista'
> (
http://cherrybyte.blogspot.com/2007/...-in-vista.html)
>
> Shawn
Hi Mike,

Yes, that would be correct. The Service "User Profile Service" should be set to "Started" and "Automatic".

Shawn
 

My Computers

System One System Two

  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Maximus X Code Z370
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    256GB OCZ Vector,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    PSU
    Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
    Case
    Corsair Air 740
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Internet Speed
    300 Mb/s Download and 30 Mb/s Upload
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Creative F200 webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB6190 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL,
    Lumia 1520 phone
  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro
    Manufacturer/Model
    HP Envy Y0F94AV
    CPU
    i7-7500U @ 2.70 GHz
    Memory
    16 GB DDR4-2133
    Graphics card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
    Sound Card
    Conexant ISST Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    17.3" UHD IPS touch
    Screen Resolution
    3480 x 2160
    Hard Drives
    512 GB M.2 SSD
R

Robbins

#5
I followed the link and tryied to do what it said but get and error message:
Cannot edit State:
error writing the value's new contents

Whay next?

"brink" wrote:
>
> Robbins;538369 Wrote:
> > When trying to logon on to my computer I get thr following message:
> > The User Profile Service service failed the logon.
> > User profile can not be loaded.
> >
> > I am the computer admin and can not access anything. At first I thought
> > it
> > was a password problem and found out that was fine. How do I get into
> > the
> > system to fix this?
>
> Hi Robbins,
>
> Try this solution. You will see ".bak" instead of ".bad" though. You
> may need to boot into safe mode to do this if you do not have a
> Administrator account available to logon to.
>
> 'Nigels blog - of things tech: Fixing User Profiles in Vista'
> (http://cherrybyte.blogspot.com/2007/07/fixing-user-profiles-in-vista.html)
>
> Shawn
>
>
> --
> brink
>
> *There are no dumb questions, just the people that do not ask them.*
> WWW.VISTAX64.COM (\"HTTP://WWW.VISTAX64.COM\")
> *Please post feedback to help others.*
>
 

My Computer

Brink

Staff member
mvp
Messages
32,205
Location
Oklahoma, USA
#6
I followed the link and tryied to do what it said but get and error message:
Cannot edit State:
error writing the value's new contents

Whay next?
Robbins,

I suppose the next thing you can do, other than a reinstall, is to boot into Safe Mode and create yourself a new Administrator account. Then, transfer all the personal user files over to the new account while deleting the old account that you cannot logon to anymore. Use "Keep Files" in frame 6 of this tutorial below.

http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/93026-user-account-delete.html

Shawn
 

My Computers

System One System Two

  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Maximus X Code Z370
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    256GB OCZ Vector,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    PSU
    Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
    Case
    Corsair Air 740
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Internet Speed
    300 Mb/s Download and 30 Mb/s Upload
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Creative F200 webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB6190 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL,
    Lumia 1520 phone
  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro
    Manufacturer/Model
    HP Envy Y0F94AV
    CPU
    i7-7500U @ 2.70 GHz
    Memory
    16 GB DDR4-2133
    Graphics card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
    Sound Card
    Conexant ISST Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    17.3" UHD IPS touch
    Screen Resolution
    3480 x 2160
    Hard Drives
    512 GB M.2 SSD
Messages
4
#7
I just had the same problem! New machine, running fine, automatic update from Symantec and now I get the message "Cannot connect to User Profile Service". I also ge the message "C:\windows\system32\config\systemprofile\Desktop is not accessible".

I also could not create a new user account in safe mode, or find any of the Restore System utilities. Further, I there was no "User Profile Service" in the list of services when I booted up in Safe mode.
 

My Computer

R

Robbins

#8
When I get into my profile , in safe mode, there is no option to create a new
account. There I get this message:
Your user profile was not loaded correctly!
You have been loged on with the default profile for the system. Please see
event log for details or contact admin.

"brink" wrote:

>
> Robbins;541696 Wrote:

> > I followed the link and tryied to do what it said but get and error
> > message:
> > Cannot edit State:
> > error writing the value's new contents
> >
> > Whay next?
> >
>
> Robbins,
>
> I suppose the next thing you can do, other than a reinstall, is to boot
> into Safe Mode and create yourself a new Administrator account. Then,
> transfer all the personal user files over to the new account while
> deleting the old account that you cannot logon to anymore. Use "Keep
> Files" in frame 6 of this tutorial below.
>
> http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/93026-user-account-delete.html
>
> Shawn
>
>
> --
> brink
>
> *There are no dumb questions, just the people that do not ask them.*
> WWW.VISTAX64.COM (\"HTTP://WWW.VISTAX64.COM\")
> *Please post feedback to help others.*
>
 

My Computer

Brink

Staff member
mvp
Messages
32,205
Location
Oklahoma, USA
#9
I just had the same problem! New machine, running fine, automatic update from Symantec and now I get the message "Cannot connect to User Profile Service". I also ge the message "C:\windows\system32\config\systemprofile\Desktop is not accessible".

I also could not create a new user account in safe mode, or find any of the Restore System utilities. Further, I there was no "User Profile Service" in the list of services when I booted up in Safe mode.
Hi Bonzo,

Welcome to the forum. :party:

I would uninstall Norton completely as a test to see if that would help. I cannot even begin to tell you how many reports I get of people that have problems with it in Vista. If it does not uninstall cleanly (completely), then use the Norton Removal Tool here:

Download and run the Norton Removal Tool

Shawn
 

My Computers

System One System Two

  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Maximus X Code Z370
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    256GB OCZ Vector,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    PSU
    Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
    Case
    Corsair Air 740
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Internet Speed
    300 Mb/s Download and 30 Mb/s Upload
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Creative F200 webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB6190 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL,
    Lumia 1520 phone
  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro
    Manufacturer/Model
    HP Envy Y0F94AV
    CPU
    i7-7500U @ 2.70 GHz
    Memory
    16 GB DDR4-2133
    Graphics card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
    Sound Card
    Conexant ISST Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    17.3" UHD IPS touch
    Screen Resolution
    3480 x 2160
    Hard Drives
    512 GB M.2 SSD

Brink

Staff member
mvp
Messages
32,205
Location
Oklahoma, USA
#10
When I get into my profile , in safe mode, there is no option to create a new
account. There I get this message:
Your user profile was not loaded correctly!
You have been loged on with the default profile for the system. Please see
event log for details or contact admin.

"brink" wrote:
>
> Robbins;541696 Wrote:
> > I followed the link and tryied to do what it said but get and error
> > message:
> > Cannot edit State:
> > error writing the value's new contents
> >
> > Whay next?
> >
>
> Robbins,
>
> I suppose the next thing you can do, other than a reinstall, is to boot
> into Safe Mode and create yourself a new Administrator account. Then,
> transfer all the personal user files over to the new account while
> deleting the old account that you cannot logon to anymore. Use "Keep
> Files" in frame 6 of this tutorial below.
>
> http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/93026-user-account-delete.html
>
> Shawn
>
>
> --
> brink
>
> *There are no dumb questions, just the people that do not ask them.*
> WWW.VISTAX64.COM (\"HTTP://WWW.VISTAX64.COM\")
> *Please post feedback to help others.*
>
Robbins,

Do you have Norton installed like Bonzo. If so, follow the advice I gave him to see if it will help you. If not, then your Vista may be to far gone and will have to be reinstalled.

Shawn
 

My Computers

System One System Two

  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Maximus X Code Z370
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    256GB OCZ Vector,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    PSU
    Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
    Case
    Corsair Air 740
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Internet Speed
    300 Mb/s Download and 30 Mb/s Upload
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Creative F200 webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB6190 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL,
    Lumia 1520 phone
  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro
    Manufacturer/Model
    HP Envy Y0F94AV
    CPU
    i7-7500U @ 2.70 GHz
    Memory
    16 GB DDR4-2133
    Graphics card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
    Sound Card
    Conexant ISST Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    17.3" UHD IPS touch
    Screen Resolution
    3480 x 2160
    Hard Drives
    512 GB M.2 SSD
E

elizabeth

#11
Ok, only be reading a different web page I found out what you mean by .bak.
How do I start my computer in safe mode?

"brink" wrote:

>
> Robbins;538369 Wrote:

> > When trying to logon on to my computer I get thr following message:
> > The User Profile Service service failed the logon.
> > User profile can not be loaded.
> >
> > I am the computer admin and can not access anything. At first I thought
> > it
> > was a password problem and found out that was fine. How do I get into
> > the
> > system to fix this?
>
> Hi Robbins,
>
> Try this solution. You will see ".bak" instead of ".bad" though. You
> may need to boot into safe mode to do this if you do not have a
> Administrator account available to logon to.
>
> 'Nigels blog - of things tech: Fixing User Profiles in Vista'
> (http://cherrybyte.blogspot.com/2007/07/fixing-user-profiles-in-vista.html)
>
> Shawn
>
>
> --
> brink
>
> *There are no dumb questions, just the people that do not ask them.*
> WWW.VISTAX64.COM (\"HTTP://WWW.VISTAX64.COM\")
> *Please post feedback to help others.*
>
 

My Computer

C

Commander_of_Chuff

#12
"Robbins" wrote:

> When trying to logon on to my computer I get thr following message:
> The User Profile Service service failed the logon.
> User profile can not be loaded.
>
> I am the computer admin and can not access anything. At first I thought it
> was a password problem and found out that was fine. How do I get into the
> system to fix this?

As of this morning im getting the same problem only i have McAfee installed.
It isnt the first problem either. Their Updates are providing all sorts of
problems over the past month. I've already reinstalled and it seemed to fix
it, but then this appeared this morning. I am not all the good with
computers to be honest so this is just what i need lol.
 

My Computer

Brink

Staff member
mvp
Messages
32,205
Location
Oklahoma, USA
#14

My Computers

System One System Two

  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Maximus X Code Z370
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    256GB OCZ Vector,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    PSU
    Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
    Case
    Corsair Air 740
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Internet Speed
    300 Mb/s Download and 30 Mb/s Upload
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Creative F200 webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB6190 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL,
    Lumia 1520 phone
  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro
    Manufacturer/Model
    HP Envy Y0F94AV
    CPU
    i7-7500U @ 2.70 GHz
    Memory
    16 GB DDR4-2133
    Graphics card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
    Sound Card
    Conexant ISST Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    17.3" UHD IPS touch
    Screen Resolution
    3480 x 2160
    Hard Drives
    512 GB M.2 SSD

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 0)