When I share a desktop folder, C:\Users and ALL subfolders are sha

D

Darryl Gittins

When I share a folder on the desktop in Windows Vista SP1, Windows Vista
shares the ENTIRE C:\Users folder and ALL the subfolders, with FULL CONTROL
assigned to ALL USERS. If I then delete the folder that I shared, the
C:\Users folder remains shared. I don't want to share ALL of my personal
files and ALL of the personal files of ALL the users on the ENTIRE computer.
I only wanted to share the one folder.

Thanks for any help with this!!
 

My Computer

C

Chuck [MVP]

On Fri, 25 Apr 2008 09:01:01 -0700, Darryl Gittins
<[email protected]> wrote:

>When I share a folder on the desktop in Windows Vista SP1, Windows Vista
>shares the ENTIRE C:\Users folder and ALL the subfolders, with FULL CONTROL
>assigned to ALL USERS. If I then delete the folder that I shared, the
>C:\Users folder remains shared. I don't want to share ALL of my personal
>files and ALL of the personal files of ALL the users on the ENTIRE computer.
>I only wanted to share the one folder.
>
>Thanks for any help with this!!

Darryl,

Is Password Protected Sharing enabled or disabled? With PPS disabled, you have
the equivalent of Simple File Sharing under Windows XP, which is going to open
up everything that's shareable, to everybody.
<http://networking.nitecruzr.net/2005/06/file-sharing-under-windows-xp.html#Guest>
http://networking.nitecruzr.net/2005/06/file-sharing-under-windows-xp.html#Guest

By default, when you share a folder, all sub folders become shared. If you
don't want sub folders to be accessible, you'll have to first set Security so
nothing is accessible. Then, go into Security - Advanced, block Inheritance (un
check "Inherit from parent"), and set the "C:\Users" folder as you like it.

--
Cheers,
Chuck, MS-MVP 2005-2007 [Windows - Networking]
http://networking.nitecruzr.net/
 

My Computer

D

Darryl Gittins

Re: When I share a desktop folder, C:\Users and ALL subfolders are

Thanks Chuck!

I understand that "when you share a folder, all sub folders become shared",
however, C:\users is not a subfolder of the folder I shared on the desktop.
When I share a folder on the desktop, I don't expect the parent folders to
inherit the permissions, which is what appears to be happening. I shared a
folder on the desktop, and the parent folder (C:\users) is also shared.

Also, I am using Windows Vista Enterprise, connected to a domain, which does
not appear to have the "Password Protected Sharing" option in the Network and
Sharing Center item in Control Panel.

Thanks again for the post!!


"Chuck [MVP]" wrote:

> On Fri, 25 Apr 2008 09:01:01 -0700, Darryl Gittins
> <[email protected]> wrote:
>

> >When I share a folder on the desktop in Windows Vista SP1, Windows Vista
> >shares the ENTIRE C:\Users folder and ALL the subfolders, with FULL CONTROL
> >assigned to ALL USERS. If I then delete the folder that I shared, the
> >C:\Users folder remains shared. I don't want to share ALL of my personal
> >files and ALL of the personal files of ALL the users on the ENTIRE computer.
> >I only wanted to share the one folder.
> >
> >Thanks for any help with this!!
>
> Darryl,
>
> Is Password Protected Sharing enabled or disabled? With PPS disabled, you have
> the equivalent of Simple File Sharing under Windows XP, which is going to open
> up everything that's shareable, to everybody.
> <http://networking.nitecruzr.net/2005/06/file-sharing-under-windows-xp.html#Guest>
> http://networking.nitecruzr.net/2005/06/file-sharing-under-windows-xp.html#Guest
>
> By default, when you share a folder, all sub folders become shared. If you
> don't want sub folders to be accessible, you'll have to first set Security so
> nothing is accessible. Then, go into Security - Advanced, block Inheritance (un
> check "Inherit from parent"), and set the "C:\Users" folder as you like it.
>
> --
> Cheers,
> Chuck, MS-MVP 2005-2007 [Windows - Networking]
> http://networking.nitecruzr.net/
>
 

My Computer

S

Steve Winograd

On Fri, 25 Apr 2008 09:01:01 -0700, Darryl Gittins
<[email protected]> wrote:

>When I share a folder on the desktop in Windows Vista SP1, Windows Vista
>shares the ENTIRE C:\Users folder and ALL the subfolders, with FULL CONTROL
>assigned to ALL USERS. If I then delete the folder that I shared, the
>C:\Users folder remains shared. I don't want to share ALL of my personal
>files and ALL of the personal files of ALL the users on the ENTIRE computer.
>I only wanted to share the one folder.
>
>Thanks for any help with this!!

I've seen the same behavior, Darryl, and I think it's a bug in Windows
Vista. It happens because the "Share" option in the right-click menu
for a folder doesn't let you access all of the possible sharing
options.

First, un-share the Users folder:

1. Open the C: disk.
2. Right-click the Users folder.
3. Click Properties (not Share).
3. Click Sharing.
4. Click Advanced Sharing.
5. Un-check "Share this folder".
6. Click OK.
7. Click Close.

Then, share the desired desktop folder:

8. Right-click the folder.
9. Click Properties (not Share).
10. Click Sharing.
11. Click Advanced Sharing.
12. Check "Share this folder".
13. Click OK.
14. Click Close.
--
Best Wishes,
Steve Winograd, MS-MVP (Windows Networking)

Please post any reply as a follow-up message in the news group
for everyone to see. I'm sorry, but I don't answer questions
addressed directly to me in E-mail or news groups.

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional Program
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
 

My Computer

Top