• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Windows 2008 R2 with SBS 2003

K

Ken Sheppard

#1
I'm running SBS 2003 Premium (not R2). I have a need to install a new
Windows 2008 R2 server and would like to know if this 2008 R2 server can
also be joined to the SBS 2003 server as an additional AD server for
replication purposes. I know that I would need to extend the SBS AD. I
have found a Microsoft KB that describes how to do this with Windows 2008
server but it doesn't mention the R2 version of 2008.

I totally understand that I would also need to purchase the necessary
additional licenses and this may be somewhat non-standard. I don't really
care about that part...I simply want to know if it'll work.

Thanks for any advice or input.

Ken
 

My Computer

C

Cris Hanna [SBS - MVP]

#2
What would be your purpose in making this a DC..there's no problem in having it as a member server, but there is little value from having an additional DC in an SBS environment UNLESS it's going to be placed at a remote office to speed up logons, in which case it should be a DNS and Global Catalog Server too.

--
Cris Hanna [SBS - MVP] (since 1997)
Co-Contributor, Windows Small Business Server 2008 Unleashed
http://www.amazon.com/Windows-Small...bs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1217269967&sr=8-1
Owner, CPU Services, Belleville, IL
A Microsoft Registered Partner
------------------------------------
MVPs do not work for Microsoft
Please do not submit questions directly to me.

"Ken Sheppard" <ksheppard31@newsgroup> wrote in message news:64217E85-5BB9-410C-94B5-044FD05AA13B@newsgroup
I'm running SBS 2003 Premium (not R2). I have a need to install a new
Windows 2008 R2 server and would like to know if this 2008 R2 server can
also be joined to the SBS 2003 server as an additional AD server for
replication purposes. I know that I would need to extend the SBS AD. I
have found a Microsoft KB that describes how to do this with Windows 2008
server but it doesn't mention the R2 version of 2008.

I totally understand that I would also need to purchase the necessary
additional licenses and this may be somewhat non-standard. I don't really
care about that part...I simply want to know if it'll work.

Thanks for any advice or input.

Ken
 

My Computer

K

Ken Sheppard

#3
Chris, that's exactly what I'm doing and I totally understand the need for DNS and GC to be installed. I actually already have a remote Windows 2003 server doing just that in a remote office that replicates back to my SBS 2003 server. The reason for changing to 2008 R2 is that I have a new Dell NAS that's running 2008 R2 in my SBS office as a member server. I want to use DFS for file replication out to my remote office and I thought I'd need to upgrade my remote office 2003 server to 2008 R2 in order for the new DFS features to work the same in both places. So that's the exact and full reason that I wanted to know if 2008 R2 could be an additonal AD server in a SBS 2003 environment.

Thanks again.

Ken
"Cris Hanna [SBS - MVP]" <crisnospamhanna@newsgroup> wrote in message news:eKXWeSSoKHA.1548@newsgroup
What would be your purpose in making this a DC..there's no problem in having it as a member server, but there is little value from having an additional DC in an SBS environment UNLESS it's going to be placed at a remote office to speed up logons, in which case it should be a DNS and Global Catalog Server too.

--
Cris Hanna [SBS - MVP] (since 1997)
Co-Contributor, Windows Small Business Server 2008 Unleashed
http://www.amazon.com/Windows-Small...bs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1217269967&sr=8-1
Owner, CPU Services, Belleville, IL
A Microsoft Registered Partner
------------------------------------
MVPs do not work for Microsoft
Please do not submit questions directly to me.

"Ken Sheppard" <ksheppard31@newsgroup> wrote in message news:64217E85-5BB9-410C-94B5-044FD05AA13B@newsgroup
I'm running SBS 2003 Premium (not R2). I have a need to install a new
Windows 2008 R2 server and would like to know if this 2008 R2 server can
also be joined to the SBS 2003 server as an additional AD server for
replication purposes. I know that I would need to extend the SBS AD. I
have found a Microsoft KB that describes how to do this with Windows 2008
server but it doesn't mention the R2 version of 2008.

I totally understand that I would also need to purchase the necessary
additional licenses and this may be somewhat non-standard. I don't really
care about that part...I simply want to know if it'll work.

Thanks for any advice or input.

Ken
 

My Computer

C

Charlie Russel - MVP

#4
It should work without issue that I'm aware of. And you use essentially the
same steps as the KB for Windows Server 2008.

--
Charlie.
http://msmvps.com/blogs/russel




"Ken Sheppard" <ksheppard31@newsgroup> wrote in message
news:%23EUMXaSoKHA.3664@newsgroup
Chris, that's exactly what I'm doing and I totally understand the need for
DNS and GC to be installed. I actually already have a remote Windows 2003
server doing just that in a remote office that replicates back to my SBS
2003 server. The reason for changing to 2008 R2 is that I have a new Dell
NAS that's running 2008 R2 in my SBS office as a member server. I want to
use DFS for file replication out to my remote office and I thought I'd need
to upgrade my remote office 2003 server to 2008 R2 in order for the new DFS
features to work the same in both places. So that's the exact and full
reason that I wanted to know if 2008 R2 could be an additonal AD server in a
SBS 2003 environment.

Thanks again.

Ken
"Cris Hanna [SBS - MVP]" <crisnospamhanna@newsgroup> wrote in
message news:eKXWeSSoKHA.1548@newsgroup
What would be your purpose in making this a DC..there's no problem in
having it as a member server, but there is little value from having an
additional DC in an SBS environment UNLESS it's going to be placed at a
remote office to speed up logons, in which case it should be a DNS and
Global Catalog Server too.

--
Cris Hanna [SBS - MVP] (since 1997)
Co-Contributor, Windows Small Business Server 2008 Unleashed
http://www.amazon.com/Windows-Small...bs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1217269967&sr=8-1
Owner, CPU Services, Belleville, IL
A Microsoft Registered Partner
------------------------------------
MVPs do not work for Microsoft
Please do not submit questions directly to me.

"Ken Sheppard" <ksheppard31@newsgroup> wrote in message
news:64217E85-5BB9-410C-94B5-044FD05AA13B@newsgroup
I'm running SBS 2003 Premium (not R2). I have a need to install a new
Windows 2008 R2 server and would like to know if this 2008 R2 server can
also be joined to the SBS 2003 server as an additional AD server for
replication purposes. I know that I would need to extend the SBS AD. I
have found a Microsoft KB that describes how to do this with Windows
2008
server but it doesn't mention the R2 version of 2008.

I totally understand that I would also need to purchase the necessary
additional licenses and this may be somewhat non-standard. I don't
really
care about that part...I simply want to know if it'll work.

Thanks for any advice or input.

Ken
 

My Computer

K

kj [SBS MVP]

#5
Can confirm R2 works fine as a (Writeable)DC in a SBS2003 domain. Even when
run on a server core platform.

.....but not true for RODCs, but that's another topic all together.

Charlie Russel - MVP wrote:

> It should work without issue that I'm aware of. And you use
> essentially the same steps as the KB for Windows Server 2008.
--
/kj
 

My Computer

K

Kerry Brown

#6
"Ken Sheppard" <ksheppard31@newsgroup> wrote in message
news:64217E85-5BB9-410C-94B5-044FD05AA13B@newsgroup

> I'm running SBS 2003 Premium (not R2). I have a need to install a new
> Windows 2008 R2 server and would like to know if this 2008 R2 server can
> also be joined to the SBS 2003 server as an additional AD server for
> replication purposes. I know that I would need to extend the SBS AD. I
> have found a Microsoft KB that describes how to do this with Windows 2008
> server but it doesn't mention the R2 version of 2008.
>
> I totally understand that I would also need to purchase the necessary
> additional licenses and this may be somewhat non-standard. I don't really
> care about that part...I simply want to know if it'll work.
>
> Thanks for any advice or input.
>
The only gotcha is you have to run adprep32 not adprep which is 64 bit on
Server 2008 R2.

--
Kerry Brown
MS-MVP - Windows Desktop Experience: Systems Administration
http://www.vistahelp.ca/phpBB2/
 

My Computer

K

Ken Sheppard

#7
I'm just now getting to this task and wanted to re-visit the topic.

I know that I need to run adprep32 against my SBS 2003 server as I do only
have the 64-bit version of 2008 R2 Server CD. My question is do I need to
run /forestprep and /domainprep on all of my AD servers or just the SBS 2003
server as it holds all of the AD roles? I'm replacing one of my branch
office AD servers that's running 2003 Standard Server but another one of the
branch offices will not be upgraded to 2008. Both of the branch office
servers are also GC along with a DNS. I have them at the remote office
simply for login performance reasons. I found the following KB to follow:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc708131(WS.10).aspx

Thanks for any input.

Ken


"Kerry Brown" <kerry@newsgroup-tems.c*a*m> wrote in message
news:%23U9DwAcoKHA.4044@newsgroup

>
> "Ken Sheppard" <ksheppard31@newsgroup> wrote in message
> news:64217E85-5BB9-410C-94B5-044FD05AA13B@newsgroup

>> I'm running SBS 2003 Premium (not R2). I have a need to install a new
>> Windows 2008 R2 server and would like to know if this 2008 R2 server can
>> also be joined to the SBS 2003 server as an additional AD server for
>> replication purposes. I know that I would need to extend the SBS AD. I
>> have found a Microsoft KB that describes how to do this with Windows 2008
>> server but it doesn't mention the R2 version of 2008.
>>
>> I totally understand that I would also need to purchase the necessary
>> additional licenses and this may be somewhat non-standard. I don't
>> really care about that part...I simply want to know if it'll work.
>>
>> Thanks for any advice or input.
>>
>
> The only gotcha is you have to run adprep32 not adprep which is 64 bit on
> Server 2008 R2.
>
> --
> Kerry Brown
> MS-MVP - Windows Desktop Experience: Systems Administration
> http://www.vistahelp.ca/phpBB2/
>
>
>
>
 

My Computer

C

Charlie Russel - MVP

#8
You only need to run it against the SBS server, since it holds the FSMO
roles. Changes will propagate to the secondary DCs. However, you'll need to
come up with a 32-bit version of correct adprep, since you can't use the
64-bit version.

--
Charlie.
http://msmvps.com/blogs/russel




"Ken Sheppard" <ksheppard31@newsgroup> wrote in message
news:DE7C0354-E31E-4180-819A-DAB250B5499C@newsgroup

> I'm just now getting to this task and wanted to re-visit the topic.
>
> I know that I need to run adprep32 against my SBS 2003 server as I do only
> have the 64-bit version of 2008 R2 Server CD. My question is do I need to
> run /forestprep and /domainprep on all of my AD servers or just the SBS
> 2003 server as it holds all of the AD roles? I'm replacing one of my
> branch office AD servers that's running 2003 Standard Server but another
> one of the branch offices will not be upgraded to 2008. Both of the
> branch office servers are also GC along with a DNS. I have them at the
> remote office simply for login performance reasons. I found the following
> KB to follow:
>
> http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc708131(WS.10).aspx
>
> Thanks for any input.
>
> Ken
>
>
> "Kerry Brown" <kerry@newsgroup-tems.c*a*m> wrote in message
> news:%23U9DwAcoKHA.4044@newsgroup

>>
>> "Ken Sheppard" <ksheppard31@newsgroup> wrote in message
>> news:64217E85-5BB9-410C-94B5-044FD05AA13B@newsgroup

>>> I'm running SBS 2003 Premium (not R2). I have a need to install a new
>>> Windows 2008 R2 server and would like to know if this 2008 R2 server can
>>> also be joined to the SBS 2003 server as an additional AD server for
>>> replication purposes. I know that I would need to extend the SBS AD. I
>>> have found a Microsoft KB that describes how to do this with Windows
>>> 2008 server but it doesn't mention the R2 version of 2008.
>>>
>>> I totally understand that I would also need to purchase the necessary
>>> additional licenses and this may be somewhat non-standard. I don't
>>> really care about that part...I simply want to know if it'll work.
>>>
>>> Thanks for any advice or input.
>>>
>>
>> The only gotcha is you have to run adprep32 not adprep which is 64 bit on
>> Server 2008 R2.
>>
>> --
>> Kerry Brown
>> MS-MVP - Windows Desktop Experience: Systems Administration
>> http://www.vistahelp.ca/phpBB2/
>>
>>
>>
>>
>
 

My Computer

K

kj [SBS MVP]

#9
adprep32 is on the R2 X64 disk, unlike the 2008 RTM/SP1 X64 verison.

so... it's adprep32 /forestprep ....

on the schema master only



Charlie Russel - MVP wrote:

> You only need to run it against the SBS server, since it holds the
> FSMO roles. Changes will propagate to the secondary DCs. However,
> you'll need to come up with a 32-bit version of correct adprep, since
> you can't use the 64-bit version.
>
>
> "Ken Sheppard" <ksheppard31@newsgroup> wrote in message
> news:DE7C0354-E31E-4180-819A-DAB250B5499C@newsgroup

>> I'm just now getting to this task and wanted to re-visit the topic.
>>
>> I know that I need to run adprep32 against my SBS 2003 server as I
>> do only have the 64-bit version of 2008 R2 Server CD. My question
>> is do I need to run /forestprep and /domainprep on all of my AD
>> servers or just the SBS 2003 server as it holds all of the AD roles?
>> I'm replacing one of my branch office AD servers that's running 2003
>> Standard Server but another one of the branch offices will not be
>> upgraded to 2008. Both of the branch office servers are also GC
>> along with a DNS. I have them at the remote office simply for login
>> performance reasons. I found the following KB to follow:
>>
>> http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc708131(WS.10).aspx
>>
>> Thanks for any input.
>>
>> Ken
>>
>>
>> "Kerry Brown" <kerry@newsgroup-tems.c*a*m> wrote in message
>> news:%23U9DwAcoKHA.4044@newsgroup

>>>
>>> "Ken Sheppard" <ksheppard31@newsgroup> wrote in message
>>> news:64217E85-5BB9-410C-94B5-044FD05AA13B@newsgroup
>>>> I'm running SBS 2003 Premium (not R2). I have a need to install a
>>>> new Windows 2008 R2 server and would like to know if this 2008 R2
>>>> server can also be joined to the SBS 2003 server as an additional
>>>> AD server for replication purposes. I know that I would need to
>>>> extend the SBS AD. I have found a Microsoft KB that describes how
>>>> to do this with Windows 2008 server but it doesn't mention the R2
>>>> version of 2008. I totally understand that I would also need to
>>>> purchase the
>>>> necessary additional licenses and this may be somewhat
>>>> non-standard. I don't really care about that part...I simply want
>>>> to know if it'll work. Thanks for any advice or input.
>>>>
>>>
>>> The only gotcha is you have to run adprep32 not adprep which is 64
>>> bit on Server 2008 R2.
>>>
>>> --
>>> Kerry Brown
>>> MS-MVP - Windows Desktop Experience: Systems Administration
>>> http://www.vistahelp.ca/phpBB2/
--
/kj
 

My Computer

C

Charlie Russel - MVP

#10
Ah, hadn't actually looked for the 32-bit version since the RTM of 2k8. I
haven't had any 32-bit servers left since I dumped SBS 2k3. (I did a clean
SBS 2k8 rather than a migration on my production network. That SBS 2k3
domain had been around since NT4 and Exchange 5.5. It was time.)

--
Charlie.
http://msmvps.com/blogs/russel




"kj [SBS MVP]" <KevinJ.SBS@newsgroup> wrote in message
news:eXki%23YrxKHA.4492@newsgroup

> adprep32 is on the R2 X64 disk, unlike the 2008 RTM/SP1 X64 verison.
>
> so... it's adprep32 /forestprep ....
>
> on the schema master only
>
>
>
> Charlie Russel - MVP wrote:

>> You only need to run it against the SBS server, since it holds the
>> FSMO roles. Changes will propagate to the secondary DCs. However,
>> you'll need to come up with a 32-bit version of correct adprep, since
>> you can't use the 64-bit version.
>>
>>
>> "Ken Sheppard" <ksheppard31@newsgroup> wrote in message
>> news:DE7C0354-E31E-4180-819A-DAB250B5499C@newsgroup

>>> I'm just now getting to this task and wanted to re-visit the topic.
>>>
>>> I know that I need to run adprep32 against my SBS 2003 server as I
>>> do only have the 64-bit version of 2008 R2 Server CD. My question
>>> is do I need to run /forestprep and /domainprep on all of my AD
>>> servers or just the SBS 2003 server as it holds all of the AD roles?
>>> I'm replacing one of my branch office AD servers that's running 2003
>>> Standard Server but another one of the branch offices will not be
>>> upgraded to 2008. Both of the branch office servers are also GC
>>> along with a DNS. I have them at the remote office simply for login
>>> performance reasons. I found the following KB to follow:
>>>
>>> http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc708131(WS.10).aspx
>>>
>>> Thanks for any input.
>>>
>>> Ken
>>>
>>>
>>> "Kerry Brown" <kerry@newsgroup-tems.c*a*m> wrote in message
>>> news:%23U9DwAcoKHA.4044@newsgroup
>>>>
>>>> "Ken Sheppard" <ksheppard31@newsgroup> wrote in message
>>>> news:64217E85-5BB9-410C-94B5-044FD05AA13B@newsgroup
>>>>> I'm running SBS 2003 Premium (not R2). I have a need to install a
>>>>> new Windows 2008 R2 server and would like to know if this 2008 R2
>>>>> server can also be joined to the SBS 2003 server as an additional
>>>>> AD server for replication purposes. I know that I would need to
>>>>> extend the SBS AD. I have found a Microsoft KB that describes how
>>>>> to do this with Windows 2008 server but it doesn't mention the R2
>>>>> version of 2008. I totally understand that I would also need to
>>>>> purchase the
>>>>> necessary additional licenses and this may be somewhat
>>>>> non-standard. I don't really care about that part...I simply want
>>>>> to know if it'll work. Thanks for any advice or input.
>>>>>
>>>>
>>>> The only gotcha is you have to run adprep32 not adprep which is 64
>>>> bit on Server 2008 R2.
>>>>
>>>> --
>>>> Kerry Brown
>>>> MS-MVP - Windows Desktop Experience: Systems Administration
>>>> http://www.vistahelp.ca/phpBB2/
>
> --
> /kj
>
 

My Computer

K

kj [SBS MVP]

#11
must be nice to be all 64 bit. But then for you, I'm not surprised. :)


Charlie Russel - MVP wrote:

> Ah, hadn't actually looked for the 32-bit version since the RTM of
> 2k8. I haven't had any 32-bit servers left since I dumped SBS 2k3. (I
> did a clean SBS 2k8 rather than a migration on my production network.
> That SBS 2k3 domain had been around since NT4 and Exchange 5.5. It
> was time.)
>
> "kj [SBS MVP]" <KevinJ.SBS@newsgroup> wrote in message
> news:eXki%23YrxKHA.4492@newsgroup

>> adprep32 is on the R2 X64 disk, unlike the 2008 RTM/SP1 X64 verison.
>>
>> so... it's adprep32 /forestprep ....
>>
>> on the schema master only
>>
>>
>>
>> Charlie Russel - MVP wrote:

>>> You only need to run it against the SBS server, since it holds the
>>> FSMO roles. Changes will propagate to the secondary DCs. However,
>>> you'll need to come up with a 32-bit version of correct adprep,
>>> since you can't use the 64-bit version.
>>>
>>>
>>> "Ken Sheppard" <ksheppard31@newsgroup> wrote in message
>>> news:DE7C0354-E31E-4180-819A-DAB250B5499C@newsgroup
>>>> I'm just now getting to this task and wanted to re-visit the topic.
>>>>
>>>> I know that I need to run adprep32 against my SBS 2003 server as I
>>>> do only have the 64-bit version of 2008 R2 Server CD. My question
>>>> is do I need to run /forestprep and /domainprep on all of my AD
>>>> servers or just the SBS 2003 server as it holds all of the AD
>>>> roles? I'm replacing one of my branch office AD servers that's
>>>> running 2003 Standard Server but another one of the branch offices
>>>> will not be upgraded to 2008. Both of the branch office servers
>>>> are also GC along with a DNS. I have them at the remote office
>>>> simply for login performance reasons. I found the following KB to
>>>> follow: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc708131(WS.10).aspx
>>>>
>>>> Thanks for any input.
>>>>
>>>> Ken
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> "Kerry Brown" <kerry@newsgroup-tems.c*a*m> wrote in message
>>>> news:%23U9DwAcoKHA.4044@newsgroup
>>>>>
>>>>> "Ken Sheppard" <ksheppard31@newsgroup> wrote in message
>>>>> news:64217E85-5BB9-410C-94B5-044FD05AA13B@newsgroup
>>>>>> I'm running SBS 2003 Premium (not R2). I have a need to install
>>>>>> a new Windows 2008 R2 server and would like to know if this 2008
>>>>>> R2 server can also be joined to the SBS 2003 server as an
>>>>>> additional AD server for replication purposes. I know that I
>>>>>> would need to extend the SBS AD. I have found a Microsoft KB
>>>>>> that describes how to do this with Windows 2008 server but it
>>>>>> doesn't mention the R2 version of 2008. I totally understand
>>>>>> that I would also need to purchase the
>>>>>> necessary additional licenses and this may be somewhat
>>>>>> non-standard. I don't really care about that part...I simply
>>>>>> want to know if it'll work. Thanks for any advice or input.
>>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>> The only gotcha is you have to run adprep32 not adprep which is 64
>>>>> bit on Server 2008 R2.
>>>>>
>>>>> --
>>>>> Kerry Brown
>>>>> MS-MVP - Windows Desktop Experience: Systems Administration
>>>>> http://www.vistahelp.ca/phpBB2/
>>
>> --
>> /kj
--
/kj
 

My Computer

C

Charlie Russel - MVP

#12
Well, I did take that old SBS server, which would only do 32-bit, and turn
it into an iSCSI target, with Starwind. Perfect for it -- lots of physical
space for disks, dual GigE NICs, good cooling, and 3 GB of RAM that's not
useable on any of my newer boxes. Installed Server 2k8, 32-bit, installed
Starwind Enterprise (great product!) and Bob's Your Uncle, we've got a SAN
here.

And yes, I have been very careful to only buy 64-bit capable machines since
they became available in late 2004. Keep in mind that XP x64 and Server 2k3
x64 Edition have been around (as RTM) since the spring of 2005. There's no
reason to not have been running 64-bit for a long time.

--
Charlie.
http://msmvps.com/blogs/russel




"kj [SBS MVP]" <KevinJ.SBS@newsgroup> wrote in message
news:ulUK0irxKHA.5132@newsgroup

> must be nice to be all 64 bit. But then for you, I'm not surprised. :)
>
>
> Charlie Russel - MVP wrote:

>> Ah, hadn't actually looked for the 32-bit version since the RTM of
>> 2k8. I haven't had any 32-bit servers left since I dumped SBS 2k3. (I
>> did a clean SBS 2k8 rather than a migration on my production network.
>> That SBS 2k3 domain had been around since NT4 and Exchange 5.5. It
>> was time.)
>>
>> "kj [SBS MVP]" <KevinJ.SBS@newsgroup> wrote in message
>> news:eXki%23YrxKHA.4492@newsgroup

>>> adprep32 is on the R2 X64 disk, unlike the 2008 RTM/SP1 X64 verison.
>>>
>>> so... it's adprep32 /forestprep ....
>>>
>>> on the schema master only
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> Charlie Russel - MVP wrote:
>>>> You only need to run it against the SBS server, since it holds the
>>>> FSMO roles. Changes will propagate to the secondary DCs. However,
>>>> you'll need to come up with a 32-bit version of correct adprep,
>>>> since you can't use the 64-bit version.
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> "Ken Sheppard" <ksheppard31@newsgroup> wrote in message
>>>> news:DE7C0354-E31E-4180-819A-DAB250B5499C@newsgroup
>>>>> I'm just now getting to this task and wanted to re-visit the topic.
>>>>>
>>>>> I know that I need to run adprep32 against my SBS 2003 server as I
>>>>> do only have the 64-bit version of 2008 R2 Server CD. My question
>>>>> is do I need to run /forestprep and /domainprep on all of my AD
>>>>> servers or just the SBS 2003 server as it holds all of the AD
>>>>> roles? I'm replacing one of my branch office AD servers that's
>>>>> running 2003 Standard Server but another one of the branch offices
>>>>> will not be upgraded to 2008. Both of the branch office servers
>>>>> are also GC along with a DNS. I have them at the remote office
>>>>> simply for login performance reasons. I found the following KB to
>>>>> follow:
>>>>> http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc708131(WS.10).aspx
>>>>>
>>>>> Thanks for any input.
>>>>>
>>>>> Ken
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>> "Kerry Brown" <kerry@newsgroup-tems.c*a*m> wrote in message
>>>>> news:%23U9DwAcoKHA.4044@newsgroup
>>>>>>
>>>>>> "Ken Sheppard" <ksheppard31@newsgroup> wrote in message
>>>>>> news:64217E85-5BB9-410C-94B5-044FD05AA13B@newsgroup
>>>>>>> I'm running SBS 2003 Premium (not R2). I have a need to install
>>>>>>> a new Windows 2008 R2 server and would like to know if this 2008
>>>>>>> R2 server can also be joined to the SBS 2003 server as an
>>>>>>> additional AD server for replication purposes. I know that I
>>>>>>> would need to extend the SBS AD. I have found a Microsoft KB
>>>>>>> that describes how to do this with Windows 2008 server but it
>>>>>>> doesn't mention the R2 version of 2008. I totally understand
>>>>>>> that I would also need to purchase the
>>>>>>> necessary additional licenses and this may be somewhat
>>>>>>> non-standard. I don't really care about that part...I simply
>>>>>>> want to know if it'll work. Thanks for any advice or input.
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>
>>>>>> The only gotcha is you have to run adprep32 not adprep which is 64
>>>>>> bit on Server 2008 R2.
>>>>>>
>>>>>> --
>>>>>> Kerry Brown
>>>>>> MS-MVP - Windows Desktop Experience: Systems Administration
>>>>>> http://www.vistahelp.ca/phpBB2/
>>>
>>> --
>>> /kj
>
> --
> /kj
>
 

My Computer

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 0)