• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Windows Live Messenger Block List

Posts
3
#1
Hi People new to the forums!

I have 2 Windows Live IDs and want to close the old one down.

I have a few questions I'd like some help with.

The old Windows Live ID has 600+ people in the blocked contacts list and they can't be deleted as the delete option is greyed out so I know I'm still on their main contact list. What I would like help with is when I close the old Windows Live account down will I be deleted of the 600+ peoples main contact list since they are all in my messenger block list?

When some one else starts to use the account will all the contact lists be like new as in blank, no one would be able to see who was in my main contacts list and blocked contacts list when I deactivated the account and then some one else starts it up as their new account.

One last question when I close my account down and some one else wants to use it will it be classed as one account or two different accounts since you never know if the account when reassigned to some one else would use it for criminal purposes and if it could then be traced to you the original user of the account

thanks
 

My Computer

J

Jonathan Kay [MVP]

#2
Greetings,

When you delete that old Live ID, after about a day (or less in most cases) everyone's
contact list who has you added you will simply disappear from (regardless if you blocked them
or otherwise).

And thus, if someone else registers that Live ID, when it returns back to the pool, it will
be empty. So, if someone else registers it, it becomes theirs, with no relation to you.

--
Jonathan Kay
Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger
MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger
MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com
Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com
(c) 2008 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation
--


"Scooby1983" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]

>
> Hi People new to the forums!
>
> I have 2 Windows Live IDs and want to close the old one down.
>
> I have a few questions I'd like some help with.
>
> The old Windows Live ID has 600+ people in the blocked contacts list
> and they can't be deleted as the delete option is greyed out so I know
> I'm still on their main contact list. What I would like help with is
> when I close the old Windows Live account down will I be deleted of the
> 600+ peoples main contact list since they are all in my messenger block
> list?
>
> When some one else starts to use the account will all the contact lists
> be like new as in blank, no one would be able to see who was in my main
> contacts list and blocked contacts list when I deactivated the account
> and then some one else starts it up as their new account.
>
> One last question when I close my account down and some one else wants
> to use it will it be classed as one account or two different accounts
> since you never know if the account when reassigned to some one else
> would use it for criminal purposes and if it could then be traced to you
> the original user of the account
>
> thanks
>
>
> --
> Scooby1983
 

My Computer