Windows Vista Forums

What does <F12> Change Boot Order in Vista do?

  1. #1
    sassofalco's Avatar

    What bad, bad,habit?

    Join Date : Sep 2008
    Mount Sheridan, Tropical Queensland, Australia
    Posts : 1,018
    Vista Home Premium 32bit [x86] - SP2
    Local Time: 02:24 PM
    australia au queensland

    What does <F12> Change Boot Order in Vista do?

    When my Notebook first starts up, a note in the bar at the bottom of the opening 'Acer' screen graphic shows;

    <F12> Change Boot Order in Vista

    I don't have the confidence yet, just to hit the <F12> to discover where this leads to, and what it is all about. I fear that I may do something that will de-stabilise my perfectly operating system, or worse, get into a predicament that I have no knowledge off, nor the technical ability to escape from it.

    I have searched through the Forum threads, but have been unable to find anything that discusses the <F12> boot order.

    I would like to know the following:

    1. In what situations is the <F12> boot key used, or when should it be used?

    2. What system boot order does it change, and can this be beneficial to the performance of the Notebook? [my system in specs below....saves a lot of re-typing!].

    3. Are the instructions clear and understandable to a 'non-geek'?

    4. Is it easy to exit or escape from <F12> window, and can that be done without making any field or boot order changes?

    5. Is there an ability to revert to, or restore to, former boot system settings, if incorrect or invalid changes are made, which later de-stabilise the system start-up?

    Cheers, sassofalco

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  2.   


  3. #2
    Fumz's Avatar

    Buggin
    Join Date : Jun 2008
    California
    Posts : 878
    Vista Ultimate x64 SP1
    Local Time: 08:24 PM
    us california

     

    re: What does Change Boot Order in Vista do?

    Hi sassofalco,

    The boot order isn't a Vista thing, it's a bios thing.

    One typically changes the boot order when you re-load the operating system. Right now your first boot device is your hard drive, but if you wanted to re-load Vista from a DVD you'd have to make the first boot device the DVD drive. Unless you changed the boot order you would continue to boot off your hard drive and never be able to boot from the DVD; essential if you're re-loading.

    Escaping is easy; just save your changes, or not, and exit the bios.

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  4. #3
    sassofalco's Avatar

    What bad, bad,habit?

    Join Date : Sep 2008
    Mount Sheridan, Tropical Queensland, Australia
    Posts : 1,018
    Vista Home Premium 32bit [x86] - SP2
    Local Time: 02:24 PM
    australia au queensland

      Thread Starter

    re: What does Change Boot Order in Vista do?

    G'Day Fumz, and thank-you for that advice.

    From my perspective with only 17 months of computer experience under my belt....
    so much to learn.....so little time!

    Cheers, sassofalco.

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  5. #4



    Senior Member
    Join Date : Jul 2008
    Switzerland
    Posts : 150
    Vista Ultimate x64
    Local Time: 06:24 AM
    switzerland

     

    re: What does Change Boot Order in Vista do?

    Quote Originally Posted by sassofalco View Post
    G'Day Fumz, and thank-you for that advice.

    From my perspective with only 17 months of computer experience under my belt....
    so much to learn.....so little time!

    Cheers, sassofalco.
    And just when you think you've got it - BAM! It's all changed!

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  6. #5



    Member
    Join Date : Nov 2008
    Posts : 84
    Vista Home Premium
    Local Time: 09:24 PM


     

    Re: What does <F12> Change Boot Order in Vista do?

    While everything written above is true, please note that F12 on an Acer does not take you into the BIOS, it brings you to a boot order screen where you change the boot order just for the current boot.

    You use it when you want to boot from a cd/dvd just this once. I use it when I need to boot a cd with imaging or recovery software that runs outside of Windows, like Ghost or Acronis. Feel free to hit F12, you will see the choices from which device you'd like to boot from. Just select HDD hard drive and it will then boot normally.

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  7. #6
    sassofalco's Avatar

    What bad, bad,habit?

    Join Date : Sep 2008
    Mount Sheridan, Tropical Queensland, Australia
    Posts : 1,018
    Vista Home Premium 32bit [x86] - SP2
    Local Time: 02:24 PM
    australia au queensland

      Thread Starter

    Re: What does <F12> Change Boot Order in Vista do?

    Quote Originally Posted by YoVincenzo View Post
    While everything written above is true, please note that F12 on an Acer does not take you into the BIOS, it brings you to a boot order screen where you change the boot order just for the current boot.

    You use it when you want to boot from a cd/dvd just this once. I use it when I need to boot a cd with imaging or recovery software that runs outside of Windows, like Ghost or Acronis. Feel free to hit F12, you will see the choices from which device you'd like to boot from. Just select HDD hard drive and it will then boot normally.
    Grazzi YoVincenzi,

    At last I've learned something before an event. Check out my Specs, and you will see that I intend to install Acronis v11 Mirror Image, plus an extra HDD.

    I take it then, that the <F12> key boot order access, would be appropriate for recovery using Acronis, in the event of a major blowout in my system?

    Cheers.

    sassofalco

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  8. #7



    Member
    Join Date : Nov 2008
    Posts : 84
    Vista Home Premium
    Local Time: 09:24 PM


     

    Re: What does <F12> Change Boot Order in Vista do?

    Yes, that is correct.

    Bear in mind that some computers will automatically boot from a cd/dvd if the disk that is inserted has booting capability.

    When you press F12 and go to the boot order screen, if the CD/DVD drive is first in the list, then there actually is no need to press F12 to boot from the disk because it would boot from it automatically. If the first device in the list is not bootable (ie not a boot disk just a regular cd/dvd), then the computer will default to the next device, which is usually the hard disk.

    By the way, when you are in the F12 Boot Screen, you choose the device you want to boot from using the up/down cursors on the keyboard.

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  9. #8
    Dwarf's Avatar

    The Contemplator



    Join Date : Mar 2008
    Doncaster, UK
    Posts : 2,760
    Windows 8.1 Pro RTM x64
    Local Time: 05:24 AM
    england uk yorkshire

     

    Re: What does <F12> Change Boot Order in Vista do?

    It should be pointed out that, since this is a BIOS option, the key in question will vary. For example, on my system it is F11.

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  10. #9
    SIW2's Avatar

    Senior Member



    Join Date : Jul 2008
    Posts : 2,703
    VISTA HOME PREMIUM X64/ 7 x64 / 7x86
    Local Time: 05:24 AM


     

    Re: What does <F12> Change Boot Order in Vista do?

    Hi,

    It's F11 on mine too - I have an AMI (American Megatrends Inc. ) BIOS.

    SIW2

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  11. #10
    johngalt's Avatar

    Antidisestablishmentarian


    Join Date : May 2008
    3rd Rock
    Posts : 3,847
    Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Local Time: 12:24 AM
    usa us georgia

     

    Re: What does <F12> Change Boot Order in Vista do?

    It should also be noted that different BIOS manufacturer's will do it in different ways. For example:

    Newer AMI BIOSs give you the option to limit the current boot drives to specific ones, and then also allow you to limit what is available via the boot menu as well - so, as a result, in one of the computer labs I am managing I have set the BIOS to disable USB and floppy at all times, and set the HD as the primary boot device, and set the boot menu to allow PXE and CD ROM as the only alternatives. Additionally, placing a system password on the BIOS also locks the Boot menu.

    Now, on the newer Lenovos we got, you first hit [ENTER] to interrupt the quick POST to give you a mini menu that includes F11 for Boot menu, IIRC.

      My System SpecsSystem Spec


What does <F12> Change Boot Order in Vista do?
Similar Threads
Thread Forum
Solved Vista becomes invisible in dual boot order change to XP as default General Discussion
VISTA: How to change the order in which programs launch on startup Vista General
ActiveSync ruined my dual-boot - how to restore Vista boot order? Vista installation & setup
Cannot Change Boot Order Vista General
Is it possible to change Vista OS Boot order remotely and / or from XP? Vista General