Windows Vista Forums

Full Screen F11 - Enable or Disable Auto-Hide

  1. #1
    Full Screen F11 - Enable or Disable Auto-Hide

    Full Screen F11 - Enable or Disable Auto-Hide
    How to Enable or Disable "Auto-Hide" in Vista and Windows 7 Explorer Full Screen F11 Mode
    Full Screen F11 - Enable or Disable Auto-Hide

    Published by


    Brink's Avatar
    Administrator

    Join Date: Apr 2007
    Location: Texas, USA
    Posts: 31,634

    How to Enable or Disable "Auto-Hide" in Vista and Windows 7 Explorer Full Screen F11 Mode

    information   Information
    This will show you how to enable or disable Auto-Hide in Windows Explorer and Internet Explorer while in Full Screen F11 mode.

    By default, Auto-Hide is enabled.
    Note   Note
    Auto-Hide for Windows Explorer and Internet Exlporer works pretty much the same way it does for the taskbar. When in full screen F11 mode, Auto-Hide hides the address bar and toolbar until you move the mouse pointer to the top of the screen. When you do, the address bar and toolbar slides open.

    EXAMPLE: Internet Explorer Full Screen F11 with Auto-Hide Enabled
    NOTE: Notice the address bar and toolbar are hidden while in full screen mode with Auto-Hide enabled.
    -auto-hide_enabled-jpg
    EXAMPLE: Internet Explorer Full Screen F11 with Auto-Hide Disabled
    -auto-hide_disabled-jpg

    Here's How:
    1. Open a Windows Explorer or Internet Explorer window.

    2. Press F11 to turn full screen mode on or off.
    NOTE: On laptops or some multimedia keyboards, you may need to press the F Lock (Function) key or press and hold the Fn key and the F11 together instead of just F11.
    3. Right click on the area boxed in red in the upper right corner of the Windows Explorer or Internet Explorer window. (See screenshots below)
    NOTE: The left screenshot is in IE8 , and the right screenshot is in Windows Explorer. In IE9, right click on a empty area on the tab bar.
    Name:  IE7.jpg
Views: 55824
Size:  7.1 KBName:  Windows_Explorer.jpg
Views: 55808
Size:  4.0 KB
    4. To Enable Auto-Hide
    NOTE: This will enable Auto-Hide in both Internet Explorer and Windows Explorer when changed in either one.
    A) Click on Auto-Hide to check it. (See screenshot below step 5)
    5. To Disable Auto-Hide
    NOTE: This will disable Auto-Hide in both Internet Explorer and Windows Explorer when changed in either one.
    A) Click on Auto-Hide to uncheck it. (See screenshot below)
    Name:  IE7_Auto_Hide.jpg
Views: 56065
Size:  11.5 KB
    That's it,
    Shawn




  2. #1


    Join Date : Jan 2011
    Posts : 1
    Windows 7 Pro
    Local Time: 18:34

    Re: Full Screen F11 - Enable or Disable Auto-Hide

    ...just wanted to say thanks after searching around to solve my problem and finding nothing exactly relevant except this post... which hit it right on the button! Now my toolbars and command menus autohide like they used to under XP.. and my screen real-estate is once again maximized!

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  3. #2
    Brink's Avatar

    Join Date : Apr 2007
    Texas, USA
    Posts : 31,634
    64-bit Windows 10 Pro
    Local Time: 20:34
    usa us oklahoma

      Thread Starter

    Re: Full Screen F11 - Enable or Disable Auto-Hide

    You're most welcome Gilamon, and welcome to Vista Forums.

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  4. #3


    Join Date : Feb 2011
    Posts : 2
    vista home premium 32 bit
    Local Time: 20:34


     

    Re: Full Screen F11 - Enable or Disable Auto-Hide

    that is exactly what I was looking for. What originaly happened was my cockatiel ran across the key board and enabled it and also disabled it so I could not figure out what happened. I have been to two Geek Squads with no results. Again Thanks.

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  5. #4
    Brink's Avatar

    Join Date : Apr 2007
    Texas, USA
    Posts : 31,634
    64-bit Windows 10 Pro
    Local Time: 20:34
    usa us oklahoma

      Thread Starter

    Re: Full Screen F11 - Enable or Disable Auto-Hide

    You're most welcome Al, and welcome to Vista Forums.

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  6. #5
    americancritic's Avatar


    Join Date : Nov 2010
    Arizona
    Posts : 1,554
    Windows Vista Home Premium 64 bit Sp2
    Local Time: 18:34
    usa us arizona

     

    Re: Full Screen F11 - Enable or Disable Auto-Hide

    Hello Shawn, good tutorial thank you I have already put it to use.

    Tom

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

  7. #6
    Brink's Avatar

    Join Date : Apr 2007
    Texas, USA
    Posts : 31,634
    64-bit Windows 10 Pro
    Local Time: 20:34
    usa us oklahoma

      Thread Starter

    Re: Full Screen F11 - Enable or Disable Auto-Hide

    Thank you Tom.

      My System SpecsSystem Spec

Full Screen F11 - Enable or Disable Auto-Hide

Similar Threads
Tutorial Category
can't enable full-screen
Hello, I have Vista home x64 and installed vpc 6 but since yesterday it's not possible to enter the fullscreen mode I have my tv connected to my...
Virtual PC
screen control's won't auto hide in WMC
Sometimes when watching a video in vista media center, the screen control's won't auto hide. The mouse cursor also won't disappear like it should...
Software
screen control's won't auto hide
WMC plays recorded tv OK, but the screen icons and controls won't dissappear during playback. Even though the mouse is not moving, the little circle...
Software
Disable/re-enable or hide/unhide Start Menu in Windows Vista via registry, using VB6
Dear Brink, Is it possible to disable/re-enable or hide/unhide Start Menu in Windows Vista via registry, using VB6 or at least disable/re-enable...
General Discussion
Log On Screen Saver - Enable or Disable
How to Enable or Disable the Log On Screen Saver in Vista When you are in a logon screen and do not click on a user and just let it sit, in 10...
Tutorials
Select Files - Disable or Enable Full Row Select
How to Enable or Disable Full Row Select in Vista Windows Explorer Normally when you move your mouse pointer over a file row in Details view in...
Tutorials
on-screen keyboard - disable/enable
When I first installed Vista, I set my ease of access to show the on-screen keyboard. Then I noticed the logon screen changed to show a on-screen...
Vista General