How to Reset the Last Backup Listing for Vista Back Up Files

information   Information
This will show you how to reset the Last Backup listing so the old or deleted Back Up Files will no longer be displayed with it's time, date, and location in the Backup and Restore Center.
Note   Note
This only removes the backup from the list, not the backup files themself. To delete the backup files see below:


Backups are saved in this format: (backup location)\(computer name)\Backup Set (year-month-day) (time)
  • If the backup was done on Local Disk D: at 9/7/2007 1:00:50 PM (It uses 24 hour time), then the full backup file path would be: D:\Computer\Backup Set 2007-09-07 130050
  • You would right click the folder Backup Set 2007-09-07 130050 and click on Delete to delete that backup.
  • To see what your computer name is, see: How to Change the Computer Name in Vista
warning   Warning
Once this is reset you will not be able to restore this unless you backed up the registry WindowsBackup key in OPTION TWO below first. Right click on the WindowsBackup key (folder) and click on Export, then save this exported REG file to where you like as the backup. To restore this backup, right click on the REG file and click on Merge and approve.

EXAMPLE: Backup and Restore Center with a Last Back Up Files
-b-s_center-jpg
EXAMPLE: Backup and Restore Center Reset to no Last Back Up Files
-default_b-r_center-jpg
EXAMPLE: Backup Status and Configuration with a Last Back Up Files
-backup_s-c-jpg
EXAMPLE: Backup and Restore Center Reset with no Last Back Up Files
-default_backup_s-c-jpg




OPTION ONE

Using a REG File Download

1. To Reset the Last Back Up Files Listing
A) Click on the download button below to download the file below.
Reset_Last_Back_Up_Files.reg
download
2. Click on Save, and save the .reg file to the Desktop.

3. Right click on the downloaded .reg file and click on Merge.

4. Click on the Run button in the Security Warning pop-up.

5. Click on Continue (UAC), Yes, and then OK when prompted.

6. When done, you can delete the downloaded .reg file.





OPTION TWO

Through Registry Editor

WARN: If you wish to backup this registry key, then right click on WindowsBackup (left pane), and click on Export. This saved exported reg file is your backup. To restore the registry key and this last Back Up Files listing, right click on the exported reg file (backup) and click on Merge and approve.
1. Open the Start Menu.

2. In the white line (Start Search) area, type regedit and press Enter.

3. Click on Continue in the UAC prompt.

4. In regedit, go to: (See screenshot below)

Code:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\WindowsBackup
-reg1-jpg
5. In the right pane, right click on ValidConfig and click on Delete. (See screenshot above)

6. Click on Yes to confirm deletion.

7. The registry will now look like this. (See screenshot below)
-reg2-jpg
8. In the left pane, right click on ScheduleParams and click on Delete. (See screenshot below)
-reg3-jpg
9. Click on Yes to confirm deletion.

10. In the left pane, right click on Security and click on Delete. (See screenshot below)
-reg4-jpg
11. Click on Yes to confirm deletion.

12. In the left pane, right click on Status and click on Delete. (See screenshot below)
-reg5-jpg
13. Click on Yes to confirm deletion.

14. The registry will now look like this. (See screenshot below)
-reg6-jpg
That's it,
Shawn