Welcome to the forum.
When you create a new account, make sure that is is an Administrator account and not a Standard account since you will be deleting your old Administrator account. After you create the new Administrator account, logoff of your old account and logon to your new Administrator account and copy anything from the old account you want to the new one. When done, delete the old account from within the new account.
The effects will be that all your programs will remain intact. The only thing that is deleted with the old Administrator account when you delete it is anything in the personal user folders, Start Menu extra and installed program shortcuts, and extra desktop shortcuts. Just copy the contents of your personal user folders from within your new adminstrator account.