Solved Shorted out hard drive?

Slammer

Destroyer of Tyranny
Vista Guru
I have been trying to use an old IDE internal HD as an external one using a borrowed IDE to USB adapter with power supply. I'm not an expert on hardware, and the instructions included were far from thorough. I carefully removed it from the old computer (it kept giving the blue screen of death and it's too old for me to bother trying to fix it) and carefully connected it to the adapter and power supply and got it spinning up. When I plugged the USB end into my computer, it showed that it installed the drivers successfully and was ready to use. But I couldn't find it anywhere in My Computer. I checked the instruction paper and it only had instructions for OSs up to XP. So I unplugged it and reattached it a couple times to see if that would get it working. After a couple times doing this (I can't remember in what order I unplugged things) the HD stopped spinning up when I plugged it in to the power supply. I can still feel it trying to (it gives a little bzz about every second and I can feel it "trying" to move by the way it shakes a little bit; I'm not sure how to explain it except that it feels like it's starting to spin and then stops just as quickly, and repeats consistently every second-ish) Listening closely I can hear it making other noises as well, like the clicking sound on older systems you hear when the HD is really busy.