Disk Cleanup

ByLine
How to Use Disk Cleanup in Vista
Synopsis
This will show you how to open and use Disk Cleanup to find and remove temporary files on your computer that you decide you no longer need.
How to Use Disk Cleanup in Vista


information   Information
Disk Cleanup finds and then removes temporary files on your computer that you decide you no longer need to free up hard drive space.
Tip   Tip
For how to delete the Vista Temporary Files in Disk Cleanup that are less than a week old, see: How to Set Disk Cleanup to Delete Vista Temporary Files Less than a Week Old
warning   Warning
Checking the Hibernation File Cleaner option to be deleted will disable the Hibernate and Hybrid sleep mode. If you did accidentally delete it, then see: How to Enable or Disable Hibernation in Vista





Here's How:
1. Open the Start Menu.​
A) Click on All Programs, Accessories, System Tools folder, and Disk Cleanup.​
B) Go to step 3.​

OR
2. Open the Start Menu.​
A) In the white line (Start Search) area, type Cleanmgr and press Enter.​

3. Choose if you want to clean files from just your user account or from all user accounts on the computer. (See screenshot below)​
NOTE: You will not see this window at all if you are running Disk Cleanup from the built-in Administrator account (How to Enable or Disable the Real Built-in Administrator Account in Vista). If you do not have the Files from all users on this computer option, then you are not running Disk Cleanup from within an administrator account. In an administrator account you will also need to make sure that you have UAC turned on to see it.
Options.jpg

4. Select which drive you want to use Disk Cleanup on and click on OK. (See screenshot below)​
NOTE: You will not see this window unless you have more than one drive or partition on your computer.
Select_Drive.jpg

5. If you chose Files from all users on this computer above, then click on Continue for UAC prompt.​
6. You will now see this screenshot below.​
Cleanup_Loading.jpg

7. When done loading, you will see either one of these screenshots depending on your choice. (See screenshots below)​
NOTE: If you just did a Upgrade install recently, then you will also see the Files discarded by Windows upgrade option. This would be for the C:\$INPLACE.~TR and C:\$WINDOWS.~Q folders. If you just did a Custom install recently, then you will also see the Previous Windows installations option. This would be for the C:\Windows.old folder.
8. Check the items you want to be deleted.​
NOTE: When you highlight a item, it will give you a description of what it is. You may also have the option to View Files to be deleted or set the Options for a item.
9. Click on OK.​
My files only ------------------------------------------ Files from all users
My_Files_Only.jpg All_Files_Main.jpg

10. Click on Delete Files button on the confirmation prompt. (See screenshot below)​
11. Disk Cleanup will delete the files and close.​
Confirmation.jpg

12. For More Disk Cleanup Options -
NOTE: If you chose Files from all users on this computer (Step 3), then you will have a extra More Options tab. (See screenshot below)​
All_Files.jpg

13. To Uninstall Programs in Program and Features -
A) Click the Clean up button under the Programs and Features section. (See screenshot below step 12)​
B) You will be taken to the "Uninstall or change a program" window in Programs and Features in the Control Panel.​

14. To Delete All but the Most Recent System Restore Point -
warning   Warning

  • If you have the 64 bit Vista and have not already done this first, then you will need to do this correction and close and restart Disk Cleanup, see: How to Correct Disk Cleanup Shortcut for Vista 64 bit
  • If you have the Vista Enterprise, Ultimate, or Business edition, then all but the most recent Complete PC Backup will be deleted also if you selected the drive in step 5 that the Complete PC Backup is stored on.

A) Click the Clean up button under System Restore and Shadow Copies. (See screenshot below step 12)​
B) Click on Delete to confirm deleting all but the most recent system restore point. (See screenshot below)​
NOTE: If you want to delete all system restore points, then turn System Restore Off and then back On to reset it. See: How to Turn System Restore On or Off in Vista
RestorePoint.jpg


That's it,
Shawn




Related Tutorials


 
Last edited by a moderator:
Shawn Brink

Comments

I just ran cleanmgr from start menu search box.
I checked these options(reported savings included)

Downloaded Program Files.....................................0 bytes
Temporary Internet Files...........................................39.1MB
Hibernation File Cleaner...........................................1.99GB
System queued Windows Error Reporting......447MB

Total amount of disk space you gain................2.47GB

Having checked the reported disk space free in Computer, before and after, I can confirm that approximately 2.1GB was indeed freed. The 300MB difference I attribute to rounding errors (and/or the 1000 vs 1024 phenomenon).

This is in addition to what I saved by running the SP2 Disk Cleanup tool, as described in this thread:

http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/229239-sp2-disk-cleanup-tool-9.html

Thank you for the tips.:cool:
 
Top