Network Connection - Delete

Brink

Staff member
mvp
ByLine
How to Delete a Network Connection in Vista
Synopsis
This will show you how to delete a network connection that you have setup on your computer in Vista.
How to Delete a Network Connection in Vista

information   Information
This will show you how to delete a network connection that you have setup on your computer in Vista.
warning   Warning
If you delete your only network connection, then you will have no network connection until you setup another one.


Here's How:
1. Open the Control Panel (Classic view).​
A) Click on the Network and Sharing Center icon.​
B) Go to step 2.​

OR
1. Right click on the taskbar Network system tray icon.​
A) Click on Network and Sharing Center.​

2. Click on the Customize link. (See screenshot below)​
Network_Sharing_Center.jpg

3. Click on the Merge or delete network locations link. (See screenshot below step 4)​
4. Click on Continue in the UAC prompt.​
Customize.jpg

5. If the Network Location the you want to delete has a Not in use Status
A) Click on the Network Location you want to delete and click on the Delete button. (See screenshot below)​
Delete2.jpg

B) Click on Yes to confirm deletion. (See screenshot below)​
Confirm.jpg

C) Go to step 7.​

6. If the Network Location the you want to delete has a In use Status
A) Close the Merge or Delete Network Locations window. (See screenshot below)​
NOTE: Leave the Set Network Location window open. (See screenshot below step 4)
Delete1.jpg

B) Click on the Manage network connections link in the upper left area of the Network and Sharing Center window. (See screenshot below step 2)
C) Right click on the Network connection you want to delete and click on Disable. (See screenshot below)​
Disable_Network.jpg

D) Click on Continue in the UAC prompt.​
E) Close the Network Connection window. (See screenshot below)​
Network_Disabled.jpg

F) Click on the Merge or delete network locations link. (See screenshot below step 4)​
G) Click on Continue in the UAC prompt.​
H) Click on the Network Location you want to delete and click on the Delete button. (See screenshot below)​
NOTE: Notice the Network Location status is now Not in use.​
Delete2.jpg

I) Click on Yes to confirm deletion. (See screenshot below)​
Confirm.jpg

7. Click on the Close button. (See screenshot below step 5A or 6C)​
8. Close the Set Network Location window. (See screenshot below step 4)​
9. Close Network and Sharing Center window. (See screenshot below step 2)​
That's it,
Shawn


 

Attachments

Last edited:

My Computers

System One System Two

  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro
    Manufacturer/Model
    HP Envy Y0F94AV
    CPU
    i7-7500U @ 2.70 GHz
    Memory
    16 GB DDR4-2133
    Graphics card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
    Sound Card
    Conexant ISST Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    17.3" UHD IPS touch
    Screen Resolution
    3480 x 2160
    Hard Drives
    512 GB M.2 SSD
Top