No audio device installed- SOLVED!

Two nights ago my comp ran updates and when I got up in the morning, I had the red x over my speaker with the message "No audio output device is installed". After searching forums, getting live tech support, reinstalling drivers, updates, restoring to a date prior to the problem (all with no luck), 16 hours of constant fiddling later, I have my sound back! I am not tech savvy at all but managed to figure this out, and I'm hoping to save others the time.
I have an HP Pavilion dv9925nr that runs Windows Vista 64 bit.
Some forums will tell you to go to device manager and click on the "Sound, video, and game controllers" category, but if you're having the same problem I was, this was not an option. It just wasn't there. Whenever I tried to reinstall the driver, mine runs Conexant, it would fail install because the hardware wasn't there.
How I fixed my issue: