• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Context Menu Open With - Add Program

Brink

Staff member
mvp
Messages
32,202
Location
Oklahoma, USA
Open With - Add Program How to Add a Program to "Open With" in Vista and Windows 7
When you right click on a file and click Open With, a list of registered programs are displayed in the Open With window to choose from. This will show you how to add a program to that list in Open With.
Published by Brink Category: Context Menu 
#1
ByLine
How to Add a Program to "Open With" in Vista and Windows 7
Synopsis
When you right click on a file and click Open With, a list of registered programs are displayed in the Open With window to choose from. This will show you how to add a program to that list in Open With.
How to Add a Program to "Open With" in Vista and Windows 7

information   Information
When you right click on a file and click Open With, a list of registered programs are displayed in the Open With window to choose from. This will show you how to register a program so that it will be added to the Open With list.

EXAMPLE: Open With Context Menu
Context_Menu.jpg
EXAMPLE: Open With window
Open%20with.jpg




METHOD ONE
Add to "Open With" Manually

NOTE: This will not always register the program and add it to the Open With window for next time.
1. For Vista

2. For Windows 7




METHOD TWO
Add to "Open With" Using a Program

NOTE: The program OpenWithAdd can be helpful in circumstances when you manually add a program and it does not get added to the Open With window. OpenWithAdd will register the program and add it to Open With a lot easier.
WRITTEN BY: Ramesh Srinivasan
2. Click on the OpenWithAdd.zip download link at the link above to download the file.​
3. Save it to your Desktop and extract the two files OpenWithAdd.exe and readme.txt.​
NOTE: OpenWithAdd.exe is stand-alone exe file and does not need to be installed. You can move this file to where you want and create a shortcut for it.​
4. Click on OpenWithAdd.exe to open the program.​
5. Type in the full path of the exe file of the program you want to add to Open With, or click the browse (...) button. (See screenshot below)​
ow1.jpg

6. If you clicked browse (...), then navigate to the exe file of the program you want to add to Open With. (See screenshot below)​
A) Click on Select.​
Select.jpg


7. Click on Register. (See screenshot below)​
ow3.jpg

8. It is now added. (See screenshot below)​
Open_With_After.jpg

That's it,
Shawn




 
Last edited by a moderator:

My Computers

System One System Two

  • Show second system?
    Yes
    Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Maximus X Code Z370
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    256GB OCZ Vector,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    PSU
    Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
    Case
    Corsair Air 740
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Internet Speed
    300 Mb/s Download and 30 Mb/s Upload
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Creative F200 webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB6190 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL,
    Lumia 1520 phone
  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro
    Manufacturer/Model
    HP Envy Y0F94AV
    CPU
    i7-7500U @ 2.70 GHz
    Memory
    16 GB DDR4-2133
    Graphics card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
    Sound Card
    Conexant ISST Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    17.3" UHD IPS touch
    Screen Resolution
    3480 x 2160
    Hard Drives
    512 GB M.2 SSD

Brink

Staff member
mvp
Messages
32,202
Location
Oklahoma, USA
#3
You're welcome Wildflower, and welcome to Vista Forums.

All credit belongs to Ramesh though for writing the program. :)
 

My Computers

System One System Two

  • Show second system?
    Yes
    Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Maximus X Code Z370
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    256GB OCZ Vector,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    PSU
    Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
    Case
    Corsair Air 740
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Internet Speed
    300 Mb/s Download and 30 Mb/s Upload
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Creative F200 webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB6190 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL,
    Lumia 1520 phone
  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro
    Manufacturer/Model
    HP Envy Y0F94AV
    CPU
    i7-7500U @ 2.70 GHz
    Memory
    16 GB DDR4-2133
    Graphics card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
    Sound Card
    Conexant ISST Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    17.3" UHD IPS touch
    Screen Resolution
    3480 x 2160
    Hard Drives
    512 GB M.2 SSD

whs

Vista Guru
Gold Member
Messages
2,026
Location
Germany/Florida
#5
I use a similar facility from Free programs to open any file extension! - that works very well too. But it never hurts to have options. The nice feature I found with that one is that it will propose downloads for a suitable program in case you have none fitting on your system.
Update: This is an example of the window shown after I right click on a word file and go to "open with":

 
Last edited:

My Computer

System One

  • Manufacturer/Model
    Dell
    CPU
    Q6600
    Memory
    4GB
    Monitor(s) Displays
    HP w2207h
    Hard Drives
    2x250GB HDDs
    1x60GB OCZ SSD
    6 external disks 60 to 640GBs
    Other Info
    Also 1xHP desktop, 1xHP laptop, 1xGateway laptop

Wildflower

New Member
Messages
3
#6
This "OpenWith" program looks pretty simple to use......right up my alley! Thanks! And I really appreciate the people who attach pictures to explain how to use programs. Really helps me. :)
 

My Computer

Brink

Staff member
mvp
Messages
32,202
Location
Oklahoma, USA
#8
You're most welcome Geekophelia, and welcome to Vista Forums. :)
 

My Computers

System One System Two

  • Show second system?
    Yes
    Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Maximus X Code Z370
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    256GB OCZ Vector,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    PSU
    Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
    Case
    Corsair Air 740
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Internet Speed
    300 Mb/s Download and 30 Mb/s Upload
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Creative F200 webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB6190 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL,
    Lumia 1520 phone
  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro
    Manufacturer/Model
    HP Envy Y0F94AV
    CPU
    i7-7500U @ 2.70 GHz
    Memory
    16 GB DDR4-2133
    Graphics card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
    Sound Card
    Conexant ISST Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    17.3" UHD IPS touch
    Screen Resolution
    3480 x 2160
    Hard Drives
    512 GB M.2 SSD

Klexur

New Member
Messages
3
#9
how do you remove entries added by this program?
 

My Computer

System One

  • Manufacturer/Model
    HP Pavilion dv7t-1200 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
    CPU
    Intel Core2 Duo CPU T6600 @ 2.20GHz
    Memory
    4.00 GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce 9200M GS, 512.00 MB
    Sound Card
    NVIDIA, IDT High Definition Audio
    Screen Resolution
    1440 x 900

Brink

Staff member
mvp
Messages
32,202
Location
Oklahoma, USA
#10

My Computers

System One System Two

  • Show second system?
    Yes
    Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Maximus X Code Z370
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    256GB OCZ Vector,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    PSU
    Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
    Case
    Corsair Air 740
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Internet Speed
    300 Mb/s Download and 30 Mb/s Upload
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Creative F200 webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB6190 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL,
    Lumia 1520 phone
  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro
    Manufacturer/Model
    HP Envy Y0F94AV
    CPU
    i7-7500U @ 2.70 GHz
    Memory
    16 GB DDR4-2133
    Graphics card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
    Sound Card
    Conexant ISST Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    17.3" UHD IPS touch
    Screen Resolution
    3480 x 2160
    Hard Drives
    512 GB M.2 SSD

lvsunz37

New Member
Messages
3
Location
California
#11
The description for this procedure says it's for Vista & Windows 7. I'm running Win 7 Pro, 64 bit. I downloaded OpenWithAdd & tried to add a couple of .exe's. They registered OK but neither of them shows up in Context Menus under Open With. Would sure appreciate some help Thank you.
 

My Computer

Brink

Staff member
mvp
Messages
32,202
Location
Oklahoma, USA
#12
The description for this procedure says it's for Vista & Windows 7. I'm running Win 7 Pro, 64 bit. I downloaded OpenWithAdd & tried to add a couple of .exe's. They registered OK but neither of them shows up in Context Menus under Open With. Would sure appreciate some help Thank you.
Hello Lvsunz, and welcome to Vista Forums.

When you right click on the file and click on Open with and Choose default program instead, does it show here instead when you click on the expansion arrow to the right of "Other Programs" in the Open with window?

Open_With.jpg
 

My Computers

System One System Two

  • Show second system?
    Yes
    Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Maximus X Code Z370
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    256GB OCZ Vector,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    PSU
    Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
    Case
    Corsair Air 740
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Internet Speed
    300 Mb/s Download and 30 Mb/s Upload
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Creative F200 webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB6190 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL,
    Lumia 1520 phone
  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro
    Manufacturer/Model
    HP Envy Y0F94AV
    CPU
    i7-7500U @ 2.70 GHz
    Memory
    16 GB DDR4-2133
    Graphics card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
    Sound Card
    Conexant ISST Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    17.3" UHD IPS touch
    Screen Resolution
    3480 x 2160
    Hard Drives
    512 GB M.2 SSD

Brink

Staff member
mvp
Messages
32,202
Location
Oklahoma, USA
#14
lvsunz,

Do you not see this?
Open-with.jpg
If not, then you might consider doing a system restore using a restore point (if available) dated when you believe it did work properly.
 

My Computers

System One System Two

  • Show second system?
    Yes
    Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Maximus X Code Z370
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    256GB OCZ Vector,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    PSU
    Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
    Case
    Corsair Air 740
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Internet Speed
    300 Mb/s Download and 30 Mb/s Upload
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Creative F200 webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB6190 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL,
    Lumia 1520 phone
  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro
    Manufacturer/Model
    HP Envy Y0F94AV
    CPU
    i7-7500U @ 2.70 GHz
    Memory
    16 GB DDR4-2133
    Graphics card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
    Sound Card
    Conexant ISST Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    17.3" UHD IPS touch
    Screen Resolution
    3480 x 2160
    Hard Drives
    512 GB M.2 SSD

lvsunz37

New Member
Messages
3
Location
California
#15
Something similar- remember I'm running Win 7 Pro, 64 bit- may be different implementation. Left or right click, I get "Windows can't open this file", then 2 options: Select a program from a list of installed programs & Use Web to find correct program.Choose 1st option then I can select, browse,check "always use", etc.

I thought I would see Open With > sub menu choices, but I don't.
 

My Computer

Brink

Staff member
mvp
Messages
32,202
Location
Oklahoma, USA
#16

My Computers

System One System Two

  • Show second system?
    Yes
    Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Maximus X Code Z370
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    256GB OCZ Vector,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    PSU
    Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
    Case
    Corsair Air 740
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Internet Speed
    300 Mb/s Download and 30 Mb/s Upload
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Creative F200 webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB6190 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL,
    Lumia 1520 phone
  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro
    Manufacturer/Model
    HP Envy Y0F94AV
    CPU
    i7-7500U @ 2.70 GHz
    Memory
    16 GB DDR4-2133
    Graphics card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
    Sound Card
    Conexant ISST Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    17.3" UHD IPS touch
    Screen Resolution
    3480 x 2160
    Hard Drives
    512 GB M.2 SSD
Messages
3
#17
Hi Brink,

thanks for finding that Add "Open with" program! I've been having that problem for a while not knowing how to fix it. Kudos to Ramesh for creating it.

I just want to go into what happened in my situation.

After uninstalling a version of MPC-HC and installing a newer version I was unable to get it to use the "Open with" function. I right clicked on the media file(any kind) clicked "Choose Default Program...". I clicked Browse and selected the correct exe and clicked open. It went back to the "Open with" menu and did not appear in the "Recommended Programs" or "Other Programs" list. If I associated the file type, naturally I could just click on it and it would open but it would never appear in the "Open with" window.

It didn't matter if I used the installer or just unzipped.

I also tried running the 32 bit version and I was able to get it to appear in the "Open with" window. However I decided to delete it and try an older version...sure enough the same thing happened as above... I deleted the older version and put back the 32 bit version I first used the "Open with" feature with and it was back in the "Open with" window. Seems like Vista is hanging on to the first version I used the "Open with" function with.

The program ramesh created fixed the problem for me :)

What I would like to know is, why is this happening and who's responsible for this problem? Vista or MPC-HC?
 

My Computer

System One

  • CPU
    Core 2 Duo E6300 @ 1.86 Ghz
    Motherboard
    Asus P5G41-M LE
    Memory
    Corsair XMS2 DHX DDR2 800 @ 5-5-5-15
    Graphics Card(s)
    Gigabyte Geforce GT440 1 GB
    Sound Card
    Onboard sound
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Samsung 23 inch Syncmaster E2320X

Brink

Staff member
mvp
Messages
32,202
Location
Oklahoma, USA
#18
Hello KXracer, and welcome to Vista Forums.

I'm happy to hear that it worked well for you. I'm not certain as to why this happens sometimes with programs though.
 

My Computers

System One System Two

  • Show second system?
    Yes
    Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Maximus X Code Z370
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    256GB OCZ Vector,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    PSU
    Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
    Case
    Corsair Air 740
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Internet Speed
    300 Mb/s Download and 30 Mb/s Upload
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Creative F200 webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB6190 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL,
    Lumia 1520 phone
  • Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro
    Manufacturer/Model
    HP Envy Y0F94AV
    CPU
    i7-7500U @ 2.70 GHz
    Memory
    16 GB DDR4-2133
    Graphics card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
    Sound Card
    Conexant ISST Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    17.3" UHD IPS touch
    Screen Resolution
    3480 x 2160
    Hard Drives
    512 GB M.2 SSD

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 0)