Printer Sharing problem

gypseeblue

Hi all, new notebook running Vista, connected to another computer running xp, can see the shared computer, and it's printers, but cannot share the printers. HELP, tried just about everything.:confused:

My Computer

Geeze a bit more info would be helpful.

you can see the Vista on the XP?

Where is the printer attached?

Does Vista see the printer on the network or attached to your Computer?

is the XP PC a desktop?

Is it a wireless netwrok?

Are the printer drivers compatable with Vista?

My Computer

Hello: Thanks for replying. I am not good at computers, so I didn't know what information to provide. However, we can see the notebook (running vista) from the desktop (running xp), and

The printer is attached on the network. I can see the printer on the network (host) only, and not on my notebook.

Desktop with printers runs XP

We are using a router, no wireless

I think I have a compatible drive.

Sorry, again, I'm not good at this stuff.
\
\Any help is appreciated.

My Computer

Hi Gypseeblue,
Are you saying you have a vista notebook, a xp desktop computer, a printer all plugged into a router?

Or are you saying you have a vista notebook and a xp desktop plugged into a router and the printer is installed on the xp desktop PC via USBcable/Parallel cable?

Raj

My Computer

Hi Raj,

I have a notebook running Vista, and my husband has a Desktop running XP. The printer is connected to his desktop via usb and both of our computers are connected to a router.

I went online with Dell Tech support, and that guy tried alot of stuff, but never could resolve the issue.

If I try to add the printer from control panel, I can select add a printer from a network, and it sees the printer and tries to connect, but then I get a message that says " Windows cannot connect to the printer. Operation could not be complete. Error 0x0000000d".