Task Manager Users - Disconnect Network User Connection

ByLine
How to Disconnect a Network User Connection in Vista
Synopsis
This will show you how to select and disconnect a user connected to your computer through a network
How to Disconnect a Network User Connection in Vista


information   Information
This will show you how to select and disconnect a user connected to your computer through a network.
Note   Note
warning   Warning
You must be an administrator, or apply the administrator password to do this.



Here's How:
1. Open Task Manager.​
NOTE: Press CTRL+SHIFT+ESC, or right click on the Taskbar and click on Task Manager.​
2. Click on the Process tab. (See screenshot below step 4)​
3. Click on Show processes from all users.​
NOTE: This elevates the Task Manager. If you do not this, then you will receive this error when you try to disconnect the user: User username (SessionId=2) could not be disconnected. Access is denied.​
4. Click on Continue in the UAC prompt.​
Elevate_Task_Manager.jpg

5. Click on the Users tab. (See screenshot below step 7)​
NOTE: The Users tab is unavailable on computers that are members of a network domain.​
6. Click on a user that you want to disconnect their network connection to your computer.​
NOTE: A connected network user will have their Computer Name under the Client Name column.​
7. Click on the Disconnect button.​
NOTE: This button will be grayed out if the listed user is not connected by a network and is only connected locally (EX: Switch User) instead. See: How to Log Off a Local User in Vista
Users.jpg

8. Click on Disconnect user to confirm. (See screenshot below)​
Disconnect_User.jpg

9. Task Manager will now no longer have the user listed since they have been disconnected.​
That's it,
Shawn



 
Last edited by a moderator:
Shawn Brink

Comments

Top