• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Solved The security center service can't be started

Question: I am using Windows Vista on my laptop and noticed my windows security alerts were a red shield. When I clicked on it to see what the problem was I see the Security Center is turned off. When I click on "Turn on now" I get the error message THE SECURITY CENTER SERVICE CAN'T BE STARTED. Can anyone offer me some help with this as I am new to Vista.
Tags: THE SECURITY CENTER SERVICE CAN'T BE STARTED

Hello, first of all I want to thank you, the post has been of help to me. I can manually start the Security Center Service now, but every time I restart my computer it's turned off again, and the only way to turn it on is manually again. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

ITOV

I am having that problem as well, but how do I manually "Start" the Security Center service?

When I click the start button and type it in on the bottom it takes me to the same window as the icon on the taskbar.

I dont know much about computers, so "dummy-proof" instructions would be greatly appreciated.:)

Thanks in advance!!

I am having that problem as well, but how do I manually "Start" the Security Center service?

When I click the start button and type it in on the bottom it takes me to the same window as the icon on the taskbar.

I dont know much about computers, so "dummy-proof" instructions would be greatly appreciated.:)

Thanks in advance!!
I don't think you have read Brink's tutorial properly.

>>>When I click the start button and type it

What did you type ?
You are supposed to type ...... services

Here is my step-by-step. It is the same as the tutorial except with " long-winded " wordings.

Start button > in the search box, type Services > press Enter key > scroll to find Security Center, click it >
under Status heading, it should say ......... Started